We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely Quiet Room for a Big City”
Review of Coventry Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coventry Motor Inn
Ranked #29 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Completely Quiet Room for a Big City”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel at a good value. Request an interior room for a completely quiet stay. Unfortunately, there are no interior rooms with 2 separate beds. The view from our interior room was a 10ft x 10ft closed-off courtyard, but that wasn't as important to us. You will have to look elsewhere for breakfast.

Room Tip: Request an interior room for complete quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    707
    111
    16
    2
See reviews for
439
769
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, UT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very reasonably priced gem in San Francisco. It is about a mile and a half walk to the warf, closer to Ghiradelli. My young kids easily made the trek twice. There is a bus stop very close. It is also and easy walk to the lombard crooked street. We did that as well. There are three reasons I didn't give it a 5 star. We were facing the main street, and our room was very noisy at night. We think it is because the windows didn't shut tight. That is a fairly inexpensive, and environmentally conscious fix. My mom was facing the alley, and she actually had a neat view, and her room was very quiet. The parking was very tight. There were about a handful of spaces for trucks and suburbans. Some compact cars parked crooked, which made it equally hard. Finally, there is no breakfast. Not anything really close by, so we had granola bars and fruit on hand because there are no fridges in the room either. That was mildly inconvenient, but overall still a four star hotel. Would definitely stay again. It was very clean and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2VacationForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was located on famous Lombard St and a few miles from the wharf. We had kids with us so we walked a block to take a 5 min bus ride. The Inn had free parking, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. What else could we ask for? We were only there for 1 night. Oh, there is a small grocery/liquor store across the street and a vape shop nearby!

Will stay here again when we visit SF in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Coventry Motor Inn. The place is clean and convenient. The staff is especially helpful. Tony, the front desk guy was exceptional. He always had a smile on his face. We came back to the hotel around 10:30 pm one evening in our car and could not find a parking space in the basement or the first floor garage. Tony saw us from the security camera looking for a space and he came out and showed us the one space left in the alley behind the hotel. We didn't even know this space existed; I was ready to go to another block and look for parking, which is tough to find in SF. Thank you Tony for exceptional service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The photos of the rooms do not do this place justice. Everything was clean and new, they just kept the original style decor. The best staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. Stayed 3 nights in June with my daughter. Great restaurants and bars within the block. Laundry service two doors down that will deliver to the hotel for you. Also, the on and off tourist bus stops a block away and the city muni bus also a block, so very convenient for transportation. We are already planning our trip back next year and without considering anywhere else will stay here again. Front desk staff really fabulous as was housekeeping. Felt very safe and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Be aware before booking that this is definitely a budget option. We booked mostly because of the free parking which was a great convenience, especially in that area of SF. However, they do not have enough parking for the amount of rooms they book so if you return to the hotel too late in the evening, you will likely not find a spot and will have to double park, leaving your key with office to be moved in the morning if needed. The room was clean and adequate, but there is no mini fridge or microwave provided so left overs are kind of a no go. The employees were all very friendly and I definitely think that this place is a good value for it's location (20 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf; 2 minutes to bus stops) as long as you approach it with the right mindset.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We usually stay in full service places, but we needed to compromise financially for this trip. Coventry Motor In was an excellent compromise.
On the plus side: great location for Presidio, Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, etc. Rooms are very fine -- good large size. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Price is a great value.
On the minus side: No internal eating place. There are nearby places for breakfast, but it's a small pain to walk there. Parking is very tight. (duh! it's SF) but we always managed to shoehorn our SUV in without scratching anything! The WiFi is very poor, but there are many other options nearby.
One different plus: the full service laundry next door is wonderful! This was a must for us at this point in our extended trip. After a morning dropoff, they washed, folded and delivered our clothes by afternoon. It was very inexpensive and well done.
We could have spent a lot more at other hotels, but it wouldn't have been worth it.

Room Tip: For less noise, pick a room not facing Lombard Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coventry Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coventry Motor Inn

Property: Coventry Motor Inn
Address: 1901 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coventry Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coventry Motor Inn features spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. Rooms are available with your choice of one king, two queen, or two double beds to ensure your comfort.Each room has a comfortable, well lit seating and work area, individually controlled heat and air-conditioning, direct-dial phone, coffee maker, and color TV.Other conviniences include free covered parking and ready public transportation to all parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Coventry Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coventry Motor Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Hotel San Francisco
Coventry Motel San Francisco
Coventry Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing