We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Decent for a Motor Inn”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #82 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Found this motor in from AAA's travel book. Even though its on the AAA book but it did not really offer the AAA discount. However, the price aint that $$$. The manager actually offered me a good discount while I booked two nites there. I went at the beginning of Sept which America cup (I guess) was held there so most hotels are $$$ according to the manager. Its not hard to find this motel. I had two doubles. ITs enough for my family. The room equips fair AC system, coffee pot, hair dryer, and towels. Internet is included. And Parking is included!! Its located on Lombard st and Fillmore. I went during the week days so it aint that noisy. Its near the bus stops to go JP town n Golden Gate park n bridge or Union Square. The only thing my fam would suggest is they need to work on their carpet and bathroom floor. Over all, we were happy w/ this motor inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liaochunchun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a long flight due to delays we arrived at the Chelsea at midnight, there were people everywhere. Leaving or going from various bars, yelling and shouting to each other. This finally stopped at 3.30 (or I finally fell asleep) The following morning I asked for another room only to be to.d that I was in one of the quietest rooms of the hotel. The following night (Saturday) I took a sleeping pill however I believe the noise was not as bad. By Sunday night it was reasonably quiet, the traffic noise is always there. My opinion is stay here from Sunday to Thursday avoid the weekends when the noise is endless. As others have said the locations good a nice walk to the water and lots of nice restaurants all within walking distance. Some of the staff were less helpful, asking for information was often a chore. Our room was clean and the beds were good.

Room Tip: We were in room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Having made reservations during the Americas Cup finals, we were pleased with the location. However, our room rate was $225 plus taxes....shabby, old, unlike other reviews, no safe or refreshments. The hallways were dirty, with stained carpets. I now believe we may have been put in an older section of the motel. Had the area hotels not been booked because of the races, I would have chosen to look for another place to stay. I would suggest inspecting your room before you commit to staying.

Room Tip: We did have a room...107...off of Lombard. Still noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at the Chelsea Motor Inn on Lombard St, with wife and son for 5 nights. Room was good, with TV and coffee making facilities. The only down side for me was hating the taste of coffee, the only way of making a cup of tea was through the coffee machine, which i could not drink. The majority of other hotels/motels we stayed at had a microwave to boil water. Don't let that deter you, its a good place to stay, and very near to some good restaurants and shops. Our favorite was Mel's Diner. We did not rent a car In San Fransisco (there is ample parking at this inn), we used public transport, getting a 7 day pass for the bus/f line/trams, which worked out cheaper.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor, and views from the windows were obscured by trees, 2nd floor may have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a great stay at the Chelsea motor inn. Good proximity to water front and easy to get around the main attractions of Sam Francisco. Rooms clean and nice decor. Rooms have a safe and come with refreshments in room and free wifi. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Car parking a good addition too and the area is really nice with good bars and eateries.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Three of us stayed here for a week and it was a good choice which I made by reading trip advisor reviews . The free parking for our rental car and free wifi were also factors in choosing it. The first night our room faced onto Lombard St and was very noisy so I requested a change and our next one Room 304 was much quieter.
The office staff were reasonably helpful when asked local questions. The room was large, clean and bathroom OK. The wifi was hit and miss which was annoying.
Location was great, buses left from either outside or one block down on Chesnut St.
A bit dated but good value for money .

Room Tip: Do not get a room that fronts onto Lombard st unless noise does not bother you. Wiould not want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louieathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at Chelsea Motor Inn for three nights and was very satisfied with the accommodations. It is located on busy Lombard Street so it might help to bring earplugs if you aren't used to the noise. I had lived in San Francisco years ago, so wasn't surprised with the amount of noise. The furnishings and decor are a little dated, but that gives it its charm. The parking is free and very convenient. There are many places within walking distance to eat. The beds were very comfortable and firmer than beds I have used in newer hotels. The housekeeping staff is courteous and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
621 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#48 of 230 in San Francisco
1,190 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
857 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £102 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing