We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Price, Excellent Location”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #83 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Price, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It was our first time in San Francisco and we met my brother and sister-in-law here for a great stay! We enjoyed the neighborhood atmosphere, the parking, and everyone was very friendly. Restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops all withing walking distance!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebird974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    368
    105
    20
    18
See reviews for
172
321
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When visiting San Francisco recently we were looking for a reasonable place to stay. We wanted something somewhat close to the attractions, and parking. A friend recommended this hotel. In any big city you go to, the hotel rates are very pricey, San Francisco included. And most of the hotels include an additional parking fee. The fees can range from $15 a night to $50 just to park your car. Chelsea Motor Inn was one of the few hotels I found with reasonable nightly rates and "free" parking. We rented a car to go to wine country but we wanted to be able walk to some of the attractions. We had no problem walking to Union Square (3 blocks) and Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 miles). The savings on the "no parking fees" was worth the stay here. The hotel is humble, garage is under the hotel. The rooms could use a little updating but they were clean and roomy and had a view of the Golden Gate bridge in the distance. Lombard Street is busy with traffic but it felt like a safe area over all. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions to restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lslyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For $150 a night (including parking!), this motels works fine. There is no free breakfast or even coffe in the lobby. There are not refrigerators in the room ($5 extra). There is a safe and a 32" Zenith Circa 1995. This was all ok for us. Honestly, we usually stay at a Marriott property and often spring for a Ritz Carlton; this trip had to be on the cheap. The ancient TV worked, the place was clean and secure, staff friendly and beds comfy.

Two important downers:
The motel in on very, very busy Lombard. 25% of the rooms face the street with large single pane windows. It is very noisy. Request the the high floor, 3, and away from Lombard.

If you don't book directly through the hotel (hotels.com, expedia, etc), they will adamantly refuse to change or add any requests you may not have made at booking, they will probably give you a crappy room (after chatting with others) and seem to resentful. However, the rates are the same if you book direct.

Bottom line, good location, clean room, free parking and cheap for San If you just need a place to crash while enjoying this great city or just an overnighter, it's great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WineGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear WineGal2,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am terribly sorry that our service fell short, and please rest assured that I will discuss this with my team. In no way is what you described acceptable in our hotel. Our staff do not provide less service with 3rd party bookings and room type as well as locations are the same for every guests. We are proud to have spacious rooms and excellent staff who maintains the rooms impeccable. We appreciate you share with us the few items that need to be modernized and on our next renovation it will be changed. We are in the process of changing slowly the TV's in all our guest rooms.

I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future as I am confident your next stay will be improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikbolandet
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We picked the Chelsea Motor Inn on price basis, it seemed to be good value. It was ok but very noisy mostly due to the thin windows towards Lombard Street. The AC/Heater in our room was also very loud.
The room was spacious and clean, good bed comfort but thin blankets.
Bathroom was ok even if i prefer a proper shower. Good complimentary parking under the hotel.
Mel´s diner is located half a block away.

Room Tip: try to get a room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unicornone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed one night post-cruise. We needed a hotel with parking because we had a rental car, and this hotel fit the bill with ample and safe parking. I know San Francisco hotels are pricey, so took that into consideration when booking, but we really didn't think this hotel is worth the prices they charge.

The room was dark and not that clean. There was a layer of dust in several areas. The bathroom floor looked filthy, then I realized the pattern on the floor made it look that way (!) So it was hard to tell how clean it really was, although after seeing a lack of housekeeping in other parts of the room, I'm not so sure...

We requested an inside room and had no problem with noise. The location is great. The Big Bus tours run right in front of the hotel, and we walked to dinner (The Tipsy Pig) and from Fisherman's Wharf after the bus tour.

Room Tip: As many others have said, ask for an inside room. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Chelsea Motor Inn is located on Lombard St, so that you are already close to one of the most famous locations in SF if you just follow the road.

At the same time, this also guarantees that the place will be busy, and thus noisy. Having earplugs is definitely helpful. The room itself is decent, with furniture which seems to come straight from the 1960's. The wooden wardrobes, and especially the pillows make you think you're visiting your grandparents.

The beds are rather comfortable, although the mattress was a bit on the bouncy side.

The room we had was also lacking a fridge, but with everything being so close, it really shouldn't be difficult to find a cold drink.

Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Found this motor in from AAA's travel book. Even though its on the AAA book but it did not really offer the AAA discount. However, the price aint that $$$. The manager actually offered me a good discount while I booked two nites there. I went at the beginning of Sept which America cup (I guess) was held there so most hotels are $$$ according to the manager. Its not hard to find this motel. I had two doubles. ITs enough for my family. The room equips fair AC system, coffee pot, hair dryer, and towels. Internet is included. And Parking is included!! Its located on Lombard st and Fillmore. I went during the week days so it aint that noisy. Its near the bus stops to go JP town n Golden Gate park n bridge or Union Square. The only thing my fam would suggest is they need to work on their carpet and bathroom floor. Over all, we were happy w/ this motor inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liaochunchun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
1,089 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#112 of 228 in San Francisco
488 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Property: Chelsea Motor Inn
Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing