We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Good location near Cow Hollow, plenty of eating, walking and transportation options. Perfect to have parking without additional cost. Room was clean. Recommend this place for value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear I M,

Thank You for choosing to stay with us, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are lucky to have such a nice location in which almost everything is walking distance. Our free parking is indeed a great plus in San Francisco where space is very limited.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you as a guest in our hotel soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Picked this hotel because of reviews on Trip Advisor. It was clean, the room was large and the bed comfortable. We were on the first floor, facing Lombard Street. Didn't seem to notice the noise at all. The location is convenient to buses, (the sightseeing bus stops at the corner), and taxis were a breeze to catch. There were several restaurants just a block away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The experience we had was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Todd E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We are glad you enjoyed our location and hotel. We are very lucky to have such a nice location, conveniently close to everything in down town San Francisco (Marina District near Golden Gate Bridge)

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Chelsea Motor Inn has huge rooms for a city hotel ~ our one king had enough room for a second bed. The bay windows (in every street-view room) all open. The temperature controls actually work. The ground floor has a drive through car port so you can be dropped out the rain & off the street, very nice. Because we were on the top floor, the northwest angled window even had a bridge view; okay, a view of the top of the south tower, which is pretty amazing for how little we paid. I chose Chelsea because it was the cheapest hotel in the city with private baths, the spaciousness and "view" were perks.

The bed was firm without being hard, nice, but increasingly common. There were sheets, the bedspread AND a thermal blanket on the bed, a nice bonus. The biggest bonus was the sheets ~ they're smooth and soft, the kind you buy for home, not the coarse ones many hotels use.

The decor is somewhat dated, but that's okay, it keeps the rates down. The elevator is slow. The hotel is noisy, triple-paned windows would likely solve that, but again, that would mean a price hike. Bring ear plugs.

They are very close to some great restaurants ~ go one block north, to Chestnut, turn left and take your pick. Go two blocks (four if you count the named alleys) south, to Filbert, cross the street to the right for Caffe Dolci and have great gelato. If we'd found it sooner, we'd have been there every day.

Catch the 22 on Fillmore, the 30 (NOT the 30X it's an express, you'll stand the whole way) on Chestnut, the 41 & 45 on Union ~ those four lines go to, or connect with the one that will go to, everywhere tourists want to be. We never had to take more than two buses, often only one. Yes, Chelsea has free parking, but don't rent a car. San Francisco has scary traffic, as in "I'd rather drive in Manhattan" and terrible parking; but they have great mass transit. Take a shuttle from the airport (Muni doesn't go there) and the Muni everywhere else. You can buy an unlimited ride pass by the airport baggage claim and Chelsea is a great location to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cathy-the-Spherical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Cathy-the-Spherical,

Thank you for writing such an elaborate comment of your recent stay. We are glad to hear you were happily surprised with the location, amenities and comfort for the price you paid. It is our goal to provide value for money at a reasonable price.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After many searches, we chose this place and we're not sorry. Room was beautiful, easy distances to catch buses so we could leave our car on site. Yes parking is a tight squeeze and there is no free breakfast, but we saved money by not having to park elsewhere, and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distances. Our room was roomy, most of our view was a tree, but I still enjoyed watching the street in between our sight seeing. Staff was nice and helpful, would stay again if we are ever in San Francisco. If your not a fan of some street noise, bring some ear plugs!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Jane W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. I’m glad that we met your expectations, we are lucky to have a great staff at our hotel. We have one of the best locations in which almost everything is walking distance.

We hope to see you soon again at the Chelsea Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Chelsea Motor Inn is in a location with plenty of resturants and bars, there was plenty of buses that took you to pier 39 and all the other main attractions. The motel itself is basic but clean and tidy with the facilities that you need and would expect in a motel. Parking in San Fransisico can be expensive therefore the free parking is a great plus. I would recomend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenni-Stout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Jenni-Stout,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Chelsea Inn

It is true that The Chelsea Inn is in a great location: easy access to various shopping areas and just right next to the bus stop. It is always good to hear that our services and convenient location met our customers’ satisfaction.

We always try to do our best, and we hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Set in an area of bars and restaurants on Lombard Street, it is a good base to investigate San fransisco. Set back from the marina area, it is away from the busier areas close to the piers. Definitely value for money as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nebukinezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We chose this motel because they offer free parking. We stayed here one night before a cruise and had a great stay. Everything, from check in to check out was fast and easy. The desk staff was very happy to answer questions and give directions. The Mels Diner down the street is a great place for breakfast.

We will stay here again when we visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBeach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,597 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#46 of 230 in San Francisco
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
172 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £90 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing