We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and great quality!”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #76 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Highly recommend! Very good place. A Diner called Mel's Drive In is open until late and very close to the hotel. Other then that, great restaurants near by!
Rooms are big and bed is very comfortable. Service is excellent! Every employee will make the best to assist you in whatever you need. My room was very silent.

Free Parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfgorgulho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Price is ok but room is old- all wood furniture in need of new varnish, walls are completely bare of picutres, beds are comfortable, no flat screen tvs or hbo, no microwaves, $5 extra a day for refrigerator that is pint size with no freezer. Was on list of motels to get picked up at for tour companies and bus service is right here. Home Plate restaurant is 1 block away for great breakfasts.

Room Tip: We were senior travelers
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed a great stay here at the Chelsea Motor Inn, its on Lombard Street, great location for commuting into the heart of San Francisco, as its in a nice district.
15/20 min walk from Frishermans Wharf, 5 min drive.
Rooms were clean tidy and big.
Free Parking, Free WIFI, sadly no breakfast facilities and none particularly near by.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are a must, front are noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When booking our stay we found the price to be great compared to other hotels in the area. They do charge a $50 booking fee which offsets the free parking. Why not just put that as your rate? We are not very picky and we know what to expect in SF. The room was clean and a little noisy as we were on the Lombard side. I can sleep just about anywhere so the noise did not bother me. Several nightclubs are around so late at night you can hear people around. The parking is great and plentiful. We felt it was safe to park our vehicle here. Overall the hotel is great for a weekend stay. We decided to pay cash upon leaving and the front desk clerk became irritated and was a jerk. So do not expect friendly service if you do anything out of the norm.

Room Tip: Noisy on Lombard side.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lets face it,San Francisco is an expensive city.My girlfriend found this place and we were really surprised by the price.Yes,some things in the hotel are older but for the price and location you can't beat it. Its walking distance to some awesome restaurants and bars. Theres also a Bus stop thats close by. Secret tip-If your on the 2nd floor and your changing your clothes make sure you keep the curtains closed when the double decker buses drive by! :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dynamicjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Chelsea Motor Inn is a very good hotel for the money. It is about half the cost of the Holiday Inn. Simple MUNI transportation from here to Fisherman's Wharf. The bed was very comfortable and we were not on the Lombard St side so it wasn't very noisy. Parking is FREE also.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Lombard St should be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room was not ready when we arrived and we were told the maids were on break so we had to wait until exactly 3:00. On my first day an older man who works at the hotel just let himself into my locked room because the floor smelled like someone had been smoking. I felt this was very inappropriate and luckily I had the latch on the door or this man would have been in my room with me. The following day I was called by the hotel desk saying that although I had the Do Not Disturb sign in that it was mandatory for a "maid" to come clean. I said that I did not need service and didn't want anyone in my room while I was out. They said the best they could do is allow me to watch while my room was cleaned. I was only staying 4 nights and felt like checking out right at that moment. Horrible customer service and a huge violation of privacy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reptar518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager0101, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Reptar 518,

Thank you for your comments on your last stay.

I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced from the moment you checked at our property.

Our check in time is from 3:00 pm for all guests. However, if a room is ready there is a possibility to checking in early.

When you leave the "Do not disturb sign", we respect our guest request and the Housekeeper will leave a note under the door reminding our guest that the room needs to be cleaned the following day to make sure all our rooms stay clean during our guest stay. All our staff work hard to make sure our rooms stay clean all the time. Every guest staying 4 nights needs to have at least the room cleaned every other day to maintain a clean environment.

Once again we apologize that you could not enjoy your stay with us due to having your room cleaned by our housekeepers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
1,150 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £100 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing