We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not worth the Area” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Ranked #129 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not worth the Area”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel itself is nice enough and they had great staff who helped us out alot when we first got there. The problem with this place is the location as while central is not a nice place to be and take a wrong turn as we did and you can end up in a bad part of town. If in San Fran stay down at Fisherman's Whart a much better area and is where we spent alot of time anyway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    340
    295
    139
    71
See reviews for
293
280
68
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

The Americania is a clean, modern, and well kept motel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are clean, the onsite restaurant is fantastic, and the beds are comfy.
On the downside the WiFi is a little patchy but computers are available in the lobby. For those of you not in the know, South of Market can be a bit of a bad neighbourhood. There was a shooting in the area the day we checked out.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freakoftheuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narellan, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

This hotel is in the Mission district of SF. The area has dozens of drunks and homeless people around the immediate area as well as assorted crazies in about a 3 block radius.
The room and bathroom was small although it appreaed to be clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was a safe in the room. The room was really inadequate for couples travelling with suitcases etc. The WIFI access didn't work and the house internet cafe had only 1 computer working which was always in use when I tried. The hotel staff were OK however the biggest beef was with parking. We had to pay an extra $20 a day plus give a valet a tip to park our car 30' away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

New Tazewell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

I could not fathom that earlier comments of Elevator inconveinences would still be a problem for this Downtown location...BUT it STILL is??. NOTE-" Families", if you travel with children or grandkids - do NOT travel to this otherwise nice central location, for you will expose the kids to "open" literature, advertising of 'Adult' 'Alternative' themes, and etc, spread out and readily available in the central lobby (think of 'Strip' in Las Vegas' and nonappropriate). Rooms show of the retro-fit (in earlier reviews) which is kinda cute, but still are only 'almost' complete. Rooms lack real hotel information of the area, presentation of Towels, Coffee supplies, personals, and etc, do not represent a "PLUS" hotel stay if that is what you seek, but is you are familiar with the bay area it is centrally located and easily traveled. Be advised that YES parking IS additional, but so is an 'Energy Tax' which was a 1st for me and not industrywide.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnjwalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days for a conference at the Moscone center. The hotel is quite nice and the neighborhood is better than these reviews would seem to imply.

The room is large, with modern touches and was very clean. It doesn't have an air conditioner, but it shouldn't be needed and it does have a ceiling fan. The bed was comfortable and had a dustmite cover, which is one of the first times i have seen this. The only problem I could see with the hotel is that the walls really are thin, and you can hear right through them. This wasn't a problem for me because i am a heavy sleeper, but it might be for a light sleeper.

As for the neighborhood, it is a good central location, an easy walk to Moscone. You can see an entrance to the civic center BART subway station, which is 3 blocks away. Yes there are homeless people in San Fransisco, and even around this home, but I was never bothered by any of them. I walked about a mile or so each night by myself.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infromcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Loved the retro look, extremely funky! Staff were extremely helpful and access to the Market St trolleys was only a block and a half away. Yes, the side streets represent some of the homeless problems current in all North American cities, but, we walked out to buy groceries and liquor, and never felt we were threatened or in any danger. As far as my research went, this was the best deal we've ever had in any major city. We can't get over how competent the front desk and car park staff were, especially under the pressure of a crush of a Bowl game crowd. We were very inpressed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My experience with the staff was very pleasant. Everyone was friendly. Although I felt very safe within the property the surrounding area was very unsafe. The hotel itself was clean although seemed a little run down. I keep hearing newly remodeled but I have to believe that happen a while ago. We had friends that were with us and their experience was not very good. We were all there to see the Kraft Bowl. They got there on a Sunday and checked in a little before 3. They had to rush to get down to the park. After the game it was late and they went to sleep except for one in there party. He stayed up later. When he pulled out the couch bed there was no mattress. Not to disturb anyone in the room he chose to sleep on the floor. The next day, they went to the front desk and told them there was no mattress. Thought maybe they should of received a little discount. There response was pretty much oh well. should of told us. My response is it should not have happened in the first place. Not cool!!!!!

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mysticeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#131 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing