We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$446
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$260
US$185
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$233
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$511
US$476
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$405
US$345
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$444
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$329
US$278
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
157
393
337
162
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
393
337
162
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmarket streetcivic centermin walktwo double bedspublic transportationfisherman's wharfsfcityfunkysomabartuber
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at BWPA SF from the 23rd of November to the 28th of November 2013.
I stayed in Room 432 on the 4th floor which had a Queen Size bed and adequate amount of pillows which were very comfortable , Nice big work desk, 42 inch TV, Bathroom with a bathtub shower, a basin, a safe, fridge, hairdryer, wardrobe, alarm clock, WiFi which worked really well and quite fast - which is very important especially if you want to share your holiday snaps with you family and friends straight away. A 5 way power supply on the desk so you can charge all you gadgets at the end of the day plus and the was a heater and airconditioning system which was great because at night it got a little cold. The room was perfect for people who are Solo Travelers or a couple. I'm pretty sure the hotel has other rooms to suit everybody from Solo to Families..

The hotel is a nice charm to it. When you walk into the hotel you first come across the front desk where you are greeted by friendly staff members - on the night I checked in a woman of African-American origin served me who made me feel very welcome and provided me with excellent customer service throughout my stay at BWPA SF.

The hotel is situated on 7th street which was just 10 walk to Union Square, 5 minutes walk to the Bus and F Train Stop which will take you all the way to the piers in just 15 minutes depending on the traffic.

I recommend this hotel as it has the all the amenities you need to keep you satisfied and comfortable without blowing your budget.

Aussies I recommend this to all of you if you are planning to visit SF in the near future.

The only downer was how far room was from the lifts 432 is all the way at the end which isn't the most friendliest when people have a lot of bags to carry. If it wasn't for this I would have given you a 5!
(In a lot of big cities there are poor people and unsavory people you'll come across - In San Francisco if you ignore them they won't bother you at all! If you're traveling alone try and use main streets and public transport until you familiarize yourself with the area)

Room Tip: For quiet rooms request rooms on level 3 and 4 and away from the elevators. For light sleeps who get disturbed by even the tiniest noises request a room facing the away from the streets as the rooms face the courtyard. For people who bring lots of bags request a room close enough to the elevators.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear RyanSinger,

Thank you for sharing all of your experiences about your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you were able to enjoy many of our hotels amenities during your stay. We are also happy that our staff and location left you with a favorable impression. We appreciate your recommendation and we can’t wait for the next chance to have you back and stay with us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Close walk to the Orpheum and shows like "Book of Mormon". The hotel was clean and service at the desk was outstanding. The rooms were clean, brightly decorated, and quiet, except for a shouting match between the couple in the next room, which quieted down quickly. The rates were very reasonable. The area around the hotel is a little bit scary, being peopled by a few homeless. The heater in our room sounded like a freight train, although my husband slept right through it. The parking garagewas close a part of the hotel, but our car appeared to have a lot less gas in it after supposedly sitting over night. Maybe we're just slightly paranoid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear suethe,

Thank you for recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania while visiting the San Francisco to see the “Book of Mormon”.

We are very happy to know that you found our service to be outstanding. We pride ourselves in leading the industry in superior customer care. We are pleased that you found our location to be favorable to seeing shows at the Orpheum.

We would love the chance to welcome you back the next time you make your way back to the city to see another show!

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here on the way out to San Francisco and on the way back. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to assist customers. The maintenance worker literally risked his life to fix a malfunctioning smoke detector so that we would be more comfortable. I will stay here again because of the ample parking, friendly staff, hotel restaurant and quiet rooms. Best sleep I got on the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank delarsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear delarsens,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Best Western Plus Americania. We appreciate all our guests’ feedback.

We are glad to know that our friendly staff, parking, restaurant and quiet rooms left you with a lasting impression. Thank you again for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to being your home away from when you travel to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service in this hotel was good. the hotel is the middle or next to any major attractions, but public transportation is readily available. It is within reasonable driving distances to fisherman wharf, golden gate, the science center or the san Francisco mission. On the negative, the room however had an unclean smell. The bed was small for two persons. On of the nights was too nosy as if they were vacuuming a room next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bonifacio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Bonifacio H,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Americania. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel with our friends on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service of the staff of the hotel. Our central location allows our guests convenient place to stay as they explore the many attractions of San Francisco; we are happy to know that you were able to see the sights of the city.

We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A decent value for downtown, or close to it. Until you add in parking. Small room that has been re-done to look like...art deco I think? Not very clean. Hair everywhere. Shower, bed, floor. Need to clean better. But didn't get bit by anything. Take earplugs. Not quiet. Woke up by doors opening and closing all night. Window was a pain to close all the way. Parking sucks as do most of the downtown hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 19jon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear 19jon57,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a detailed account of your stay with us. I am so disappointed to hear of some of the challenges you experienced and I am currently researching and addressing these concerns with our team.

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent level of cleanliness that you experienced during your visit as well the noise levels in your room. Our team is taking additional steps to reduce the courtyard noise that you referenced.

As with most hotels in the Downtown San Francisco area, we do charge for parking. However, our charges are at the lower end of the scale for hotels that do charge.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we are your destination spot for a night away in San Francisco.

Best wishes,

Jazmine Bonnett
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews