We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good downtown hotel with very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Ranked #133 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel with very friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay here just before Christmas. The rooms are clean but the walls are thin so you can hear what the neighbours are doing and everyone who walks along outside. The staff are very friendly especially the car valet staff. I didn't enjoy walking out at nighttime due to the amount of homeless people / tramps that were about. It did make me feel quite uncomfortable however didn't prevent us from going out, we just walked quickly past them and ignored them!
Parking was $30 per day however you had in/out privileges for the entire duration and I feel is a reasonable price for parking at a city hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Americania during your recent trip to San Francisco. We appreciate for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with all of friends in the Trip Advisor community. In addition, we are happy to know that our friendly staff made quite the positive impression on your visit. Our parking rates are among the cheapest in the city and we are pleased to know that you were able to use the valet service. Thank you again for sharing, we can’t wait to have you back with us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    344
    300
    142
    71
See reviews for
296
284
68
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint George, UT, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very clean fun place to stay in SF. Very close to BART station and great sites to visit. Enjoyed the friendly staff and they let us store our luggage until we could check in later! The decor is fun and rooms very spacious. The restaurant had a good variety on the menu. All in all it was a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Wynn S,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and liked our friendly staff, spacious rooms and fun decor. We are happy that we made a favorable impression during your recent stay. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with Trip Advisor. We can't wait to have you back with us the next time you stay in San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend while we were in SF for my company's holiday party. The reason why we picked it is it was inexpensive (only $125 for AAA members on a Saturday night) and it's only about 2 blocks from the Civic Center Bart station. The area surrounding the hotel is kind of sketchy and their some interesting characters on the streets, but we weren't bothered by any of them. The actual hotel was fine for ours needs, which was really just a place to sleep. In our room, one of the lightbulbs was out, the coffee maker didn't work, and the shower floor was kind of dirty. Also, the "high-speed" Internet wasn't very fast. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows seeemd kind of old and flat. This is a fine place to stay if you're only staying a night or two, but if you're staying in the city any longer, I'd recommend a different hotel in a nicer area. Also, there really aren't a lot of good places to eat or shop within a 3-4 block radius of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Samantha B,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Best Western Plus Americania with the Trip Advisor community. We are disappointed to hear that your final impression of the hotel was less than favorable. We look forward to the opportunity to address your concerns and the chance to have you back with us to allow us to put our best foot forward to leave your with a better experience.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayman Island, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at BWPA SF from the 23rd of November to the 28th of November 2013.
I stayed in Room 432 on the 4th floor which had a Queen Size bed and adequate amount of pillows which were very comfortable , Nice big work desk, 42 inch TV, Bathroom with a bathtub shower, a basin, a safe, fridge, hairdryer, wardrobe, alarm clock, WiFi which worked really well and quite fast - which is very important especially if you want to share your holiday snaps with you family and friends straight away. A 5 way power supply on the desk so you can charge all you gadgets at the end of the day plus and the was a heater and airconditioning system which was great because at night it got a little cold. The room was perfect for people who are Solo Travelers or a couple. I'm pretty sure the hotel has other rooms to suit everybody from Solo to Families..

The hotel is a nice charm to it. When you walk into the hotel you first come across the front desk where you are greeted by friendly staff members - on the night I checked in a woman of African-American origin served me who made me feel very welcome and provided me with excellent customer service throughout my stay at BWPA SF.

The hotel is situated on 7th street which was just 10 walk to Union Square, 5 minutes walk to the Bus and F Train Stop which will take you all the way to the piers in just 15 minutes depending on the traffic.

I recommend this hotel as it has the all the amenities you need to keep you satisfied and comfortable without blowing your budget.

Aussies I recommend this to all of you if you are planning to visit SF in the near future.

The only downer was how far room was from the lifts 432 is all the way at the end which isn't the most friendliest when people have a lot of bags to carry. If it wasn't for this I would have given you a 5!
(In a lot of big cities there are poor people and unsavory people you'll come across - In San Francisco if you ignore them they won't bother you at all! If you're traveling alone try and use main streets and public transport until you familiarize yourself with the area)

Room Tip: For quiet rooms request rooms on level 3 and 4 and away from the elevators. For light sleeps who get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear RyanSinger,

Thank you for sharing all of your experiences about your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you were able to enjoy many of our hotels amenities during your stay. We are also happy that our staff and location left you with a favorable impression. We appreciate your recommendation and we can’t wait for the next chance to have you back and stay with us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Close walk to the Orpheum and shows like "Book of Mormon". The hotel was clean and service at the desk was outstanding. The rooms were clean, brightly decorated, and quiet, except for a shouting match between the couple in the next room, which quieted down quickly. The rates were very reasonable. The area around the hotel is a little bit scary, being peopled by a few homeless. The heater in our room sounded like a freight train, although my husband slept right through it. The parking garagewas close a part of the hotel, but our car appeared to have a lot less gas in it after supposedly sitting over night. Maybe we're just slightly paranoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear suethe,

Thank you for recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania while visiting the San Francisco to see the “Book of Mormon”.

We are very happy to know that you found our service to be outstanding. We pride ourselves in leading the industry in superior customer care. We are pleased that you found our location to be favorable to seeing shows at the Orpheum.

We would love the chance to welcome you back the next time you make your way back to the city to see another show!

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here on the way out to San Francisco and on the way back. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to assist customers. The maintenance worker literally risked his life to fix a malfunctioning smoke detector so that we would be more comfortable. I will stay here again because of the ample parking, friendly staff, hotel restaurant and quiet rooms. Best sleep I got on the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank delarsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear delarsens,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Best Western Plus Americania. We appreciate all our guests’ feedback.

We are glad to know that our friendly staff, parking, restaurant and quiet rooms left you with a lasting impression. Thank you again for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to being your home away from when you travel to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service in this hotel was good. the hotel is the middle or next to any major attractions, but public transportation is readily available. It is within reasonable driving distances to fisherman wharf, golden gate, the science center or the san Francisco mission. On the negative, the room however had an unclean smell. The bed was small for two persons. On of the nights was too nosy as if they were vacuuming a room next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonifacio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Bonifacio H,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Americania. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel with our friends on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service of the staff of the hotel. Our central location allows our guests convenient place to stay as they explore the many attractions of San Francisco; we are happy to know that you were able to see the sights of the city.

We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing