We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Americania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americania Hotel
Ranked #134 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Central location - within walking distance to Union Square and rest of downtown.

I was upgraded to a junior suite without asking - since they had one available. Plenty of space and nice decor.

I'd definitely book again when travelling to San Francisco as it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_in_Dublin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Jack_in_Dublin2013,

Thank you for sharing with our friends in the Trip Advisor community your experience at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in San Francisco and that are central location and rooms made your trip memorable. We look forward to be your home in San Francisco the next time your travels bring you this way.

Warm Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel provided great service and was very comfortable. The p[ol was heated even though it was chilly at night. The hotel bar had a happy hour with was convenient after days of touring the city. It's location is close to BART which was great for traveling throughout the city and to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Debbie D,

We are ecstatic to read your review and comments about your at stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy to hear that our service, comfy bed, pool, bar and location all made your trip to San Francisco memorable. Thank you again for sharing, we can’t wait for your return.

Warm regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is a nice oasis of humanity and civilization in the heart of downtown san francisco. We were in town to see the Book of Mormon and this was the only hotel in walking distance that didn't have the hashtag of #homeless, #roaches or #usedcondoms and was less than $300 a night. Staff was friendly, personable and helpful and the restaurant had prompt and efficient service. Just be aware that this is right next to the theater district, so junkies will be openly shooting up and/or masturbating on the sidewalks. This doesn't reflect the hotel, simply the location. If you're up for some free entertainment, theirs a CVS drugstore a few blocks down where you can watch employees tackle shoplifters every 15 minutes. Also, expect to pay $30 for overnight parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles And Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Charles and Kim A,

We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel, the Best Western Plus Americania to be an oasis while coming to see Book of Mormon. We are also happy to hear that our friendly staff made a last impression of your visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments regarding your recent stay. We can’t wait to be your oasis of leisure for your next trip to the city!

Warm regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Room was recently updated and was very nicely decorated. Pool was warm, walls were a bit thin - you could hear other guests coming and going from your room. Nice calming pond between rooms. Very modern touches.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Deby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Deby C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and the pool. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you back with us when you travel to San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is nicely positioned on 7th St. within easy walking distance of several businesses on Townsend St. (treat yourself to something delicious from Bonjour Patisserie, if you're down that way) and a large shopping center at Mission & 5th. The floorplan is interesting with a couple of atria ascending the hotel to break up the hallway-after-hallway monotony of a lot of other city hotels that sometimes try to cram as many rooms as possible into their space. Also, within close walking distance of a CVS and Walgreens on Market St. Staff were polite, helpful, and professional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Sarah K,

Thank you for providing your opinions about the Best Western Plus Americania and of one our local neighborhood French patisserie. We are glad that our hotel layout exceeded your expectations and are ecstatic that our staff provided you with great customer service during your stay at the Best Western Plus Americania.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel charges hotel guests 3 times the parking fee compared to what they charge for parking to non hotel guests. $30 to hotel guests for the night parking Vs $10 to non hotel guests during full day. Ideally, they should charge the same $10 for the day (parking space being a problem in Sanfrancisco) and night should be free for Hotel Guests. Hotel HVAC system doenot work well. Uncomfortable sleep. Poor ventilation (windows open inside the hotel building)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Manohar Reddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Manohar Reddy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Americania. I can understand how confusing the parking fee must have been for you as we do have daily and overnight parking rates posted. Our daily and overnight parking rate for San Francisco is one of the lowest in the city. As a hotel guest you had been provided a discount from our overnight parking of $45 for standard sized vehicles. It is unfortunate that you felt the parking rate was unsuitable as it is very competitive for San Francisco especially given our location and we offer our apologies.

Each Best Western is individually owned and operated offering different amenities. San Francisco is blessed with a mild climate which is why many hotels here do not have air conditioning units this includes our very own Best Western Plus Americania. Our rooms come in various sizes, configurations and layouts. We offer our apologies that the room and our amenities were not what you had expected.

Thank you taking the time to provide a response on Trip Advisor.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a horrible experience, i remember the hotel across the street was a best western years ago, and far better i might add. This place likes to think of itself as a boutique and something special but it's not, especially in a town like this. First they covered up their 20 dollar parking fee, nowhere was it on the web site, and nowhere on my res, then they act like it's normal. Seeing another reviewer i'm not the only one unhappy about this deception. I don't need vale parking... they should include fees in the cost and not lie about the cost of the room. The staff really couldn't care less what you think... i asked for walking directions... he hands me a map and doesn't help or give any directions, can't be bothered. The room was tiny for the high cost and i asked for a high floor with view, got a corner room with i view of a white wall 5 feet from the window and off to the side a view of another rooms window. I felt trapped. The bathroom area was incredibly tiny and the carpet had a huge stain. Couldn't wait to get out of this hotel in what really isn't an ideal location anyway for most people even if it was for me. Keep searching DO NOT STAY HERE !!! Don't be deceived by the cute pics they are only interested in gauging you for your money !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Americania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Northernk,

Thank you for providing your feedback about the Best Western Plus Americania. San Francisco is an urban metropolis with limited parking space. I can understand how confusing the parking fee must have been for you. Our daily and overnight parking rate for is one of the lowest in the city. It is unfortunate that you felt the parking rate was unsuitable as it is very competitive for San Francisco especially given our location.

We are quite curious to know which website does not list our nominal parking fee as it is mentioned on our websites and our confirmation letter. We would appreciate if you are able to direct us to the website you are referring to that does not mention the parking fee so that we may investigate the matter for you.

On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the situation you encountered as we aim to provide all of our guests with great customer service. We appreciate your feedback as this has provided us a great training tool. Our rooms come in various sizes, configurations and layouts. We offer our apologies that the room and our layout were not what you had expected.

Thank you again for your time and response.


Kind regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 230 in San Francisco
310 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 230 in San Francisco
662 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 230 in San Francisco
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
1,230 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,201 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americania Hotel

Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2835 (Formerly Best Western Plus Americania)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £105 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americania Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing