We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel away from all the action.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Americania
Ranked #131 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel away from all the action.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Must say check in was awesome. Quick and efficient and friendly staff. Stayed 3 nights.

Room had 2 double beds and pullout sofa. Very hip and retro. Alot of space and enough room for 6 people.

Room service was great and done each day. Restaurant onsite if breakfast lunch or dinner is required. Also a couple restaurants across the road.

Pool is heated and as said rooftop.

However the only let down was the location. People who say its a 10minute walk it aint. Probably if your running or brisk walking but reality is the walking to union square is about half an hour

Buses however are awesome so try it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodecirossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear jodecirossi,

Thank you for sharing review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a positive experience with our quick, efficient staff during check in. Additionally, we are happy to know that our décor, housekeeping staff, heated pool and restaurant added to your memorable trip to San Francisco. Thank you again for sharing your review and we can wait to have you back the next time you travel to The City.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    366
    312
    152
    75
See reviews for
319
305
68
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am a BW Diamond and stay in a lot of properties. The Americania is pretty unique... Somewhat retro and very inner city San Francisco. Definitely clean and comfortable as per BW Plus standards. Parking in SF in a challenge in general, I would take advantage of other means while in the area. Definitely shop for the best rate and price compare. The rate was a little steep for south of Market St.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Vince R,

Thank you for your response we truly appreciate that you provided an honest and warm opinion of our hotel. Our entire staff are here to serve and provide a place that you can call home when you are on your travels. We are glad that we were able to provide you the service we aim for on a daily basis.

We anticipate your return to warmly welcome you home on your next visit to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel, was clean and tidy, and I liked the ambience of the hotel and room. You are not far from the tram and the centre. It felt we were on the wrong side of town with a lot of beggars around the hotel and at night we made the conscious decision return using taxi's. Extra charges do rack up so be aware. There was occupancy tax, tourism improvement district charge, California tourism assessment charge, and Moscone expansion district charge which all added ~16% to the bill, and Breakfast isn't included. The pool, gym were all fine, and if you want a car then is a good option, but again this will cost you $17 a day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Lee W,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and the ambiance of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham U.K
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in september and we overall very pleased. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the staff were friendly and helpful. The actual area is not the best but we found it fine to walk through the city during the day and through mission street, but found it best to get taxis back to the hotel at night as a precaution. That said we never heard or saw any trouble! There are alot of people on here moaning about the parking charges that need to know a couple of things. Alot of hotels closer to the front and the financial district advertise valet parking but when u get there they phone an external company. then you spend 20 minutes waiting by the road for some shady un-uniformed guy to come and take your car away. (i speak from experience). Then you have the same thing in reverse when you want your car back! This hotels parking is on site and is a godsend, so i dont think the $39 is unreasonable at all. most of the other hotels will charge the same amount for the terrible sevice i just described.
So overall i reccomend it, and think people should stop complaining about the parking!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-Costello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Colin-Costello,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff and greatly appreciate your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is A couple of blocks to get to the muni station for a $2.00 ticket one way to get to the ATT Park for a game. It is a great way to go and then you don't have to drive and fight the traffic and crowds. The staff at the hotel were terrific and what a treat to be treated very courteously and friendly, even down to the the valet and parking garage attendents. We had a family suite and liked the extra room it gave us for our family and (an extra perk) of the balcony that we could go on to watch the Bay to Breakers Race. That was fun!! Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 901michellez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi 901michellez,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations, proximity to the baseball stadium and the hospitality of our friendly staff. We certainly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on with us and the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit into San Francisco!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel decor was very nice - the challenge is that all the rooms face the courtyard - so there isn't any privacy - you have to keep your drapes drawn and the room is dark. They don't have AC - which may not be necessary - but on this trip it was needed - because you can't have your window open to the courtyard and other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello Loretta J,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your decor. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yes, it's a bit of a dodgy spot. But no-one bothered us, and vice versa. In fact, had the most,
" happy Mother's Day, ma'am" ever. So very handy for, well, everything! Union Square, cable cars, trams, buses..all transport. Easy to drive in and out of downtown from this location to get the 1 or 101. And save on taxi by getting train to airport, leaving from market and 7th, (civic).
The staff were brilliantly patient and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast in the "Custom Burger", very fresh and fast friendly service. We couldn't bring our 13 year old into the bar...kind of annoying, as there is no other bar/restaurant nearby. Rools is rools!
The rooms are quite adequate ..apart from, there being no sockets beside the bed. My husband has a breathing apparatus to use, and had to plug it in beside the main desk, so had to sleep other way around in bed...he did survive this. Also, would have really loved a comfy chair in the room. Hard plastic just not doing it for me these days.
Good value, great staff...and good to see a varied age group of guests. Would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iinloveactually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Desk Supervisor at Best Western Plus Americania, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Iinloveactually,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff, your dining experience at our Custom Burger and appreciate your candid insight about our surrounding area. Your review I'm sure will help our future guests make the best of their stay while in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best Wishes,

Kathleen Sheridan
Front Desk Supervisor
The Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#136 of 229 in San Francisco
302 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
644 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#174 of 229 in San Francisco
3,023 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 229 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Americania

Property: Best Western Plus Americania
Address: 121 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Americania 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing