We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cleaned up nice boutique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Ranked #130 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Banos
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cleaned up nice boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A wonderful location within walking distance of Union square and Market street. Once a questionable location the area has cleaned up nicely as too the hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very well made up clean safe with valet and security guard. Although the décor wasn't our style it did fit the city and the people who live there and on this weekend of gay pride parade was very cool indeed. The room was very clean, well appointed, everything worked as advertised. With a ceiling fan and the windows it was very comfortable in summer, 65* high with a 55* low at night it was warm enough and cool enough. no a/c needed but did have a great heater if you must. We like a soft bed so we were a little disappointed with the new very firm beds. No worries we slept fine even with some late night noise from those night goers and early morning kids running. If your a light sleeper this may not be for you. We had no problem even on a weekend like this. We were upgraded to a two room suite which was excellent. Now it can be pricey and you must pay for parking but it is in a garage, valet parking or self parking. Restaurant on site is ok, pool is heated on second deck out side and the is area ok. The staff is a mix bag some seem very friendly and helpful some not so much. Of the 3 valets we dealt with 1 was very good, 1 was helpful, and 1 was just ok. If you can get a deal its worth it. We liked it and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcKloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manage at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear DarcKloud,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your thoughts and experiences about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your upgraded room and our heated pool. We are happy to know that you like the hotel and will stay with us again. Thank you again for sharing, we are excited at the next chance to be your destination while in San Francisco.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    340
    294
    139
    71
See reviews for
292
280
68
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and i stayed here for three nights as the last stop on a mini tour of the US. We chose this particular hotel as we had access to a discount, but were not disappointed. This funky little hotel has a great location only 1/2 blocks from Market st and public transportation. Also only a 20 minute walk to AT&T park if you're planning on catching a ball game during your stay. The decor of this place sets it apart from your standard Best Western hotel and provides a very cool retro feel as you walk into your room. The courtyard style setup and thin walls mean that if you are unlucky enough to have inconsiderate guests (such as children running up and down the balconies late at night) your sleep might be slightly affected. This of course is not the hotels fault and not enough of a deterrent to avoid staying at this charming location. The highlight of our stay were the friendly and helpful staff. Scottie behind the front desk in particular was fantastic. He went our of his way to help us plan our activities, right down to working out exact bus/train connections to each of our destination, all while juggling phone calls and other guests. We had a few special requests during our stay, but nothing was any trouble to any of the staff. Overall, well priced, unique decor, great location and fantastic staff make the Best Western Plus Americania an ideal choice for your next stay in San Fransisco

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Beau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Beau W,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania as your home in San Francisco during your mini tour of the United States. We are very happy that our location to public transportation and AT&T Park, our retro décor and friendly staff left you with a positive experience. Scottie is among the many bright stars of our staff and thank you for recognizing his service during your stay. Thank you again for sharing your review of the Best Western Plus Americania, we look forward to being your home again the next time you visit San Francisco.

Warm Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Family of five three days visit in SF. The room was definitely too small for five, but as our kids could arrange with it we didn't have a problem. Bottleneck was the bathroom but the toilet was at least separately, which helped.

The location is south of market street, not in the very best area but for us it was safe also walking late hours home eg after watching a San Francisco Giants Baseball game in the stadium.

Prices for breakfast and burger-dinner are okay, SF is not known for being cheap.

The pool was appreciated by the kids and there's also kind of a sundeck and a mezzanine lounge seating (and smoking) area. Staff was helpful and friendly. Check in etc all was easy and fast.

With some compromise recommendable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mavb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear mavb77,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americanina. Additionally, thank you for writing you review of our hotel and sharing it with Trip Advisor. We are glad you and your family were able to take advantage of our heated pool and you had a positive experience with our staff. We aim to leave a favorable impression and experience with all of our guests and we are happy that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay. We can’t wait to have you back with us the next time you travel to San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel, south of market, is conveniently located however the value is not that great. I stayed in a very, very small room, used the parking lot and had a pet with me - all of this for almost $300 for one night. At this rate the hotel could only supply paper and/or plastic cups for in room beverages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank KarlBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manage at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear KarlBaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write about and share your review of the Best Western Plus Americania. We are happy that you stayed with us and found our central location to be convenient. We feel as if we provide value to our guests with our competitive parking rates and amenities, including being pet friendly. All of our rooms come with paper and plastic cups for in room beverages and apologize that was in your room. We would love the opportunity to have you come again and the chance to give you a better experience and value the next time you come to San Francisco.

Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here because the hotel was near Market Street and it offered a rate half that of other major hotels for the weekend my friend and I were visiting. We didn't have high expectations, and ended up being quite pleased. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and quiet, there was plenty of hot water, and the bathroom fixtures were in good shape. We liked the retro decor too. The location was convenient for public transportation, and we found some good breakfast places nearby. On the downside, we saw a couple of homeless people fighting on the sidewalk outside CVS a block or two away, but that ended pretty quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timdsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear timdsd,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with our friends online and with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a clean, quiet room with comfortable beds. Thank you again for taking the time to share, we can’t wait to have you back when you next travel to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently with a group of teenagers. The hotel is easily within walking distance of Union Square. The decor is fun, and we all loved the quirkiness! The staff were very welcoming and efficient. We checked in on a late Saturday morning, not really expecting the room to be ready. We were pleasantly surprised that it was ready, AND they had upgraded us to a suite! The suites consist of two adjoining rooms sharing a bathroom. The rooms are standard size hotel rooms, not exceptionally large, but we had plenty of space for our group. The bathroom was VERY small, but we didn't mind. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, and it was pleasantly heated for a cool March evening. The hotel has parking on site for a fee, but the cost was reasonable for San Francisco. Also of importance, we felt safe at this hotel. It is on the borderline of a kind of sketchy area, but it was just fine. All in all, we had a lovely experience, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Wildwoodatheart,

With the many choices of hotels in San Francisco we are delighted that you chose the Best Western Plus Americania as your home in San Francisco. We are glad that you and your group were pleasantly surprised with your stay. Our design team appreciates that you enjoyed our quirky décor. On a daily basis our staff aim to provide all of our guests a welcoming, warm and secure feeling during your time with us.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Plus Americania.


With anticipation,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Must say check in was awesome. Quick and efficient and friendly staff. Stayed 3 nights.

Room had 2 double beds and pullout sofa. Very hip and retro. Alot of space and enough room for 6 people.

Room service was great and done each day. Restaurant onsite if breakfast lunch or dinner is required. Also a couple restaurants across the road.

Pool is heated and as said rooftop.

However the only let down was the location. People who say its a 10minute walk it aint. Probably if your running or brisk walking but reality is the walking to union square is about half an hour

Buses however are awesome so try it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodecirossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyi, Assistant Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear jodecirossi,

Thank you for sharing review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Americania. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a positive experience with our quick, efficient staff during check in. Additionally, we are happy to know that our décor, housekeeping staff, heated pool and restaurant added to your memorable trip to San Francisco. Thank you again for sharing your review and we can wait to have you back the next time you travel to The City.

Kind regards,

James Charles
Assistant Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Address: 121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel is a 143-room boutique hotel with a fun and amusing design of understaed references to classic American pasttimes. With guest rooms, meeting space and the Custom Burger and Lounge located on site, the hotel provides a San Francisco hotel experience well suited for vacationers, families, and business travelers alike and is the ideal setting for small business meetings and social functions.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americania Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Hotel Americania
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing