We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has good...and it has bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Bridge Inn
Ranked #117 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“It has good...and it has bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights (which included an entire weekend). Manager was very friendly and helpful. Parking is beyond cramped. There are enough parking spots for only half of the rooms...it's tight and a gamble. There are 2 levels of rooms, both facing the parking lot and a wall. We had the last room on the bottom level next to the stairs. There was some noise from people (usually drunk) from outside and in the rooms and on the stairs. The location isn't that bad really. It's kinda quiet concerning people traffic. We are walkers, so we basically walked to everything. Market street is a 15 minute walk and there's a Whole Foods 2 blocks away. The room is small but has alot in it: microwave, small fridge, iron and board, table with chairs, desk with chair and lamp, dresser, 2 nightstands and lamps, phone, alarm clock, a new flatscreen HD tv with tons of channels and...a very strange air conditioner. The fan and heat worked fine, but the ac part would get cold and then cut off constantly after 4-20 minutes. It got a little hot at night and definitely (along with the small, stiff but clean bed) kept us from ever getting a full nights sleep. Manager said it was motion activated but I stood right in front of it and it still would cut off. Lie #1! Bathroom was nicely tiled and had a jetted tub that didn't work but easily fit 2 people. Manager said a man broke the pump just days earlier. Lie #2! Shower pressure was low but the temps were great. There's an ice and soda machine by the office. Truth is, it did the job, was clean and convenient and not too overly priced, but I doubt I will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    104
    48
    17
    22
See reviews for
22
121
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This place is extremely run down and not as cheap as it should be. We booked a room here because all our usual San Francisco choices were booked up on a holiday weekend. We also chose it because we saw other reviews that said it was within walking distance of the Giants ball park. On that score it was, but it is a long walk, about 10 big city blocks. The managers of this motel are very nice and want to be helpful. They allowed us to park our car even though we hadn't checked in yet because we were going to the ball game. They brought us extra pillows when we asked. However, the room was really run down. Peeling paint, burn marks on the curtains, shredded bed skirt, hair in the bathroom, mattress and towels really thin, negligible air conditioning. The neighborhood was fine in the day, not so sure at night although it was easy to call a taxi to go out to dinner. Bottom line, we ended up paying $160 for one night which is way too much for this creaky place. I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudad del carmen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights, when we booked we were looking an inexpensive hotel with good location close to the AT&T park for the game and easy to move around, upon arrival Ricky was really helpful and welcoming and took time to explain the area and give good tips. Our room was always clean and never had an issue, only the noise neighbors, conclusion we got what we paid for, only location at night didnt like it!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claus8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I've just stayed 13 nights (April 28th to May 11th, 2013) - have been staying at this hotel for about 20 years in total. Know Ricki the manager well. It has an excellant location being 3 blocks south from Market Street. Shops and restaurants 10 minutes away. My room was on the 2nd floor towards the back. Unlike other reviewers, I just expect a clean and comfortable room, not too many frills and am not all worried if the carpet is frayed. It got hoovered every day. The towels and sheets were daily freshly laundered. Does it really matter to have the maid service at a particular time slot as previous reviewer stated, my young ladies alway came by, if you need something go ask always helpful. The fridge, microwave, coffee machine and LG digital TV were helpful to have. My direct dial phone worked well and the WiFi although being a little slow, due to network and traffic issues, did the business. If you want luxury go stay at the Hyatt or similar in Union Square, but expect to pay double or triple the price. If you want a swimming pool to entertain your children in, then the Bay Bridge is not for you. If your visiting SF you don't need a car - the public transportation is excellent, buy your travel pass from the main Tourist office only though. Bus stop about half a block away from hotel. Route 47 will take you to Fisherman's wharf via Van Ness Av. I will definitely be staying again at the BB Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Would like to be able to rate this place higher, but overall a number of things need to be addressed. The brown carpet was old and worn, internet access was intermittent and extremely slow, ironing board was broken, and no maid service even though we were out of our room between 10 AM and 3 PM. The owner/manager seemed to genuinely care because he asked on more than one occasion about our experience. For the Internet problem he provided direct access to his 3rd party support line twice, but still the connection was sketchy and when available, very slow. The TV, microwave, and refrigerator were newer and in good working condition, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Chose this motel for its location. We were attending the World Baseball Classic semis & final. A mile from ATT park. Surprised at how conveniently located near Market (4-5 short blocks), SOMA area. Lots of decent restaurants & chains walking distance. Buses a half block away took us to fisherman's wharf, top of the mark, the sf jazz center. Hotel was clean. Manager, Mr. Ku was very helpful.

There were panhandlers on the streets. It is a big city but they were never aggressive and we never felt endangered even late at night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want some white noise to block out street sounds. Harrison bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDL1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

First, the good things: the TV, refrigerator and microwave were all new. The AC/heat was quiet. Linens were clean. The carpet looked new. The shower fixture had reasonable flow. There is some parking (but see below).
Now, the not-so-good items: carpet not installed correctly with frayed edges showing, baseboards not clean, chips in the doors, no security chain for the door, furniture had missing handles/ knobs, chairs too low for the small table, front panel on the vanity (sink) coming off, no grab bars in shower, non-slip stickers on tub floor worn off, and some mildew spots on the bathroom tile. There is no view.
The hotel has some parking but only for about half of the rooms. If the spaces are full, then you have to find a spot on Harrison or the street behind the hotel.
It is in a revitalized area with few businesses. There is a very nice Peruvian restaurant across the street but other businesses are about 2 or more blocks away. The area seems reasonably safe but I suggest being very cautious at night.
The hotel office had a very strong odor of food being cooked somewhere in the adjacent room. This is not only inappropriate in any motel but also suggests a low-class establishment to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#196 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#161 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Bridge Inn

Property: Bay Bridge Inn
Address: 966 Harrison Street, Between 5th & 6th Streets, San Francisco, CA 94107
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Bridge Hotel San Francisco
Bay Bridge Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing