We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the heart of the Tenderloin”
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nob Hill Hotel
Ranked #151 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
suva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the heart of the Tenderloin”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Yes, We'll certainly go back to the hotel. We stayed in the penthouse, loved the jacuzzi, and had views of the 4th of July Fireworks. The hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin and the Financial/Union Square area. Our room was quiet at night except of course, for the 4th of july fireworks. The neighborhood is fine, and generally one should to drive or cab to a fancy restaurant. only a couple restaurants within walking distance.
We had ----excellent treatment by all the hotel staff----.. One suggestion we have for the hotel concerns the valet service. ---The valet/car park service is not run by the hotel, but the hotel should add their own valet/car park service.--- We appreciated that The hotel staff interceded when the valet took over an hour to get our car. The second time the valet returned our car while I waited, the valet stopped the car and asked me how to put it in park and we let the hotel staff know. Definitely we''ll return.

Room Tip: pick the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    202
    166
    58
    94
See reviews for
92
268
53
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I ended up at the Nob Hill Hotel as it was Oracle week and the city was heavily booked. Being a monthly commuter, I have been in a lot of hotels and knew to have low expectations for this hotel. Even my low expectations were not low enough.

It started with check-in. I booked through a third party site for a "Dexluxe Run of House" - however, when I got there I was put in a tiny, smelly STANDARD room. When I complained, he said they were full and rudely explained to be that 'run of house meant they could put me wherever they wanted'. That is not the case - I should have been give a Deluxe room or better. Bottom line - they would not move me.

The room was shabby - see my pics of the stained walls, tattered furniture, broken phone and dirty linens. It was disgusting - and for $300/night! The worst part was when the neighbors came home in the adjoining room. The paper thin walls left nothing to the imagination.

The neighborhood is sketchy - that I knew. I suppose it is true the hotel is on Nob Hill but it is on the Tendernob area - adjacent to the Tenderloin. Don't be fooled that you are on Nob Hill

I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenFBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Really not up to par by any hotel standards. There was a hole under the carpet in our room, out the window a rooftop with trash and discarded screens, tv powered by old extension cords. I asked housekeeping for an ice bucket and got a dirty one without the liner, I complained but no one brought a liner. The included restaurant wasn't open several nights it was supposed to be. We would have been much better off nearly anywhere else in San Francisco.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was built in 1906 and is decorated accordingly, so you really feel like stepping back in time (in a good sence!). The authentic elevator is quite charming.
They also offer free wine tastings each afternoon on 5:30-7:00 PM, which is nice. However, the complementary breakfast were a bit disappointing, with only cereals, sweet pastry, toasts and fruit available.
The rooms are really clean, but some refurbishing would be good already (without losing the boutique charm).
The location is not the very center/downtown, but you can easily reach all the major attractions there in max 30 min.
Overall, it is really a value for money deal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I liked the appearance of the lobby and check in was fine but our room experience was not good for a number of reasons. The wave of a strong and peculiar smell hit hard when entering our room. The carpeting was stained and the furnishings in general felt out dated and odd. The room was dark and dreary as well. After stubbing my toes and knees repeatedly on the protruding bed frame, I was ready to cry! The bathroom was unattractive and in need of a much needed renovation.
My son's room was much better; sunnier, cleaner, decorated nicer and the bathroom renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated bathroom in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swifty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location, near cable car, by foot to union square. Fine wine and cheese taste each day, helpfull receptionists. Rooms rather small, missing table to work on computer. All necessary equipment available.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Small beautiful hotel with the character of the turn of the last century. Also the decoration and design of the rooms are modeled after that time. Gorgeous. Everything else is up to date.
Centrally located, many attractions within walking distance, bus or cable car.
Nice italian restaurant in the hotel. Free Wifi for the guests and the staff is really helpful.
Parking very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Opal San Francisco
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
1,114 reviews
Music City Hotel
#122 of 228 in San Francisco
378 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
759 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#147 of 228 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Hotel

Property: Nob Hill Hotel
Address: 835 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nob Hill Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Nob Hill Hotel was established in 1906 and fully restored to its original grandeur in 1998. Each guest room is beautifully appointed in Victorian antiques and exquisite velvet and satin bedding. The Nob Hill Hotel is ideally located in the serene Nob Hill district of San Francisco. The hotel is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and Moscone Center. Cable Car is located two blocks from the hotel's door leading you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Crooked Street, and Embarcadero. Experience the warmth and charm of the Nob Hill Hotel and discover your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nob Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nob Hill
Nob Hill San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing