We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Vacation - First Stop Great!”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #77 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Coastal Vacation - First Stop Great!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel was wonderful! The beds were extremely comfortable and the location was fabulous. Convenient to Fisherman's Wharf and just down the block from the Crookedest Street! We couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: We gave our debit card to hold our room, we then paid cash for the room. They still ran the funds t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    303
    114
    15
    10
See reviews for
165
243
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We wanted somewhere in downtown SF which was in walking distance of the Farmer's Market and Pier 39. This is it. A bit off the beaten track but on main roads. Easy to locate if you are driving. The biggest asset is secure and free underground parking. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was excellent. Clean and recently refurnished in a classy dark wood. A good quality large flat screen LCD TV with plenty of channels. Bed was very comfortable. Some nice restaurants locally. Highly recommended for a short stay on a road trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The primary purpose of a hotel is to give you somewhere to sleep, that's all... This one fails massively. The beds are comfortable enough, the bathroom facilities are good and the location is fine. BUT this hotel is on a main thoroughfare through the city and it only has single glazing windows (yes didn't know they still made them for anything other than garden sheds!) and the noise is terrible. Had the worst two nights sleep of my life. Stay here by all means but get a room that is not on the main road.

Room Tip: Keep away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a special gem in a sea of choices!! We were very satisfied with our room (#116) and the location of this motel. I cannot say enough about the experience of our 4 days here. There is a convenience store right outside for any needs, the Cafe Lombard across the street and on the bus route (buy a muni pass). We parked our car and it stayed there for 4 days!! All in all the experience was exceptional and if you want a clean hotel to meet your standard needs, you will not be disappointed. Friends were at the Wharf Inn and we felt very lucky with our choice of motels. It was much quieter, cleaner, updated, etc. yet a quick walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street, Coit Tower, the cable cars, etc!! The manager has been at the motel for 23 years and it is managed very well. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the back as others noted and room 116 worked out perfectly!! It was also at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Lombard Motor Inn is a very nice and comfortable place in San Francisco. We stayed there for a couple of nights and everything was great. They don't have breakfast but you can find bakeries and restaurants around the property with good prices. Location is good, it's right on the intersection with Van Ness, easy to commute and in a walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Fort Manson and Lombard St. gardens. Front desk guys were always friendly and helpful and they have free parking. I'd definitely stay at Lombard Motor Inn next time I go to SF, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenomartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my sisters's birthday weekend. We chose it solely because it was inexpensive and near the rest of the family's hotel. The rooms were average, seemed to be old, but everything seemed clean enough. One thing to keep in mind is the windows are paper thin so if you get a room facing the street, it gets pretty loud. It was one of the cheapest hotels in San Francisco, so it was a good value. The best part is the location, it's only a couple blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and Ghiradelhi Square. Great if you just need somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjs4016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Rooms are clean, the price was fair and the location is great in my opinion.

Close enough to Union Street for restaurants and bars. Market Street has some good shopping and restaurants within less than a mile. Only a few blocks away from the twisty part of Lombard Street. Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 33 are close enough to walk to.

If you don't need to stay downtown, I think this is a great place to be. The hotel was cleaned well everyday. The staff was very helpful... oh... and FREE parking! That is a huge bonus in a big city. Free Wifi... really good shampoo, conditioner and soap.. sometimes it's the little things.

Some have complained about it being loud, but we were never woken up by the traffic on Lombard Street.... I can hear it now... typing here with no tv on and the rest of the family asleep in the morning, but with the tv on.. it's no big deal to us. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want less street noise, ask for a room that doesn't face Lombard.... but.. it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#105 of 228 in San Francisco
1,128 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
1,086 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
310 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#47 of 228 in San Francisco
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing