We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VALUE IN SAN FRANCISCO!!!”
Review of Francisco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francisco Bay Inn
Ranked #145 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEST VALUE IN SAN FRANCISCO!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I don't understand any bad reviews here? For the price you pay...and what you get....how do you go wrong.

Rooms were cheap, clean, and spacious.

Free WiFi

Free continental breakfast (just juice/ coffee / muffins)

Free Parking (even though it's limited...you can park behind another car. If the person has to move, the front desk will move you car for you)

Unlike other reviews...we didn't find it noisy at all...and our room was facing busy Lombard Street.

The lady in the office is cold, blunt, and not friendly. But if you have any questions, she is still helpful.

At the end of the day....if you want a place in SF close to Fishermans Wharf, with free parking, clean & spacious room ---- you will pay over $200 a night elsewhere.

Only complaint - when I requested a wakeup call -- they forgot both nights.
However; the owner apologized for his son's forgetfulness.

All in all - great value and convenience.
If you want modern luxury....quit whining and go pay the Big Bucks $$$!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_VanCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    182
    137
    65
    69
See reviews for
126
161
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We Stayed for 4 nights. Room needs an upgrade. Internet is ok. Noise from road is there but it didn't spoil my sleeping. 15-20 minute walk to the wharf.
I would stay again if I just need a bed in SF. Parking was available and free.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralpholsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed one night in late August and had a fine experience. The woman at the front desk was very warm and helpful, the room was comfortable and we didn't have issues with hearing traffic at all. This hotel is on a fairly busy street, but if you look at the location, you'll know what to expect. Really nice Italian deli across the street with very friendly staff/owners. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Noisey (neighbours, but surprisingly not the street) and a run down motel. Don’t expect a friendly greeting, absolutely hopeless. And parking is very limited and small spots (get your can opener ready). On the positive site, the room was clean and the location is good (take a good pair of walking shoes, you’ll get good exercise – a few buses run nearby, but 15 mins walk to the Warf). I only stayed here because I had limited other options (late planning)…always a last time for everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Must have the worst reception staff I have ever come across. Quite rude and only interested in selling trips. We asked for an early morning call on day of departure but did not receive it. Just as well we had woken up our selves. Rooms were a bit musty but the bathroom was large and clean. The location was good but I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherF20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Rooms were dirty, neighbors were noisy all throughout the night, front desk was not welcoming what so ever, not to mention one of the front desk employees was seen barefoot and swinging in his hammock in front of customers. I would definitely not recommend staying at this place, especially for how much we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfinarivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This rather expensive place ($200 - $300) gave us a tiny room. The heater/air conditioner would not turn off when we dialed to "off" so we had to pull the electric plug from the wall. The radio next to the bed did not work at all. There were no cups or glasses in the bathroom. The hot-cold plumbing in the shower is reversed. The 'free breakfast' stopped at 9 am instead of 10, so we missed it. We have stayed at much cheaper places in San Francisco that were better than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnualVisitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
815 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#104 of 229 in San Francisco
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#134 of 229 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francisco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco Bay Inn

Property: Francisco Bay Inn
Address: 1501 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Francisco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Francisco's famous Lombard Street - home to the Golden Gate Bridge and 'The Crookedest Street in the World' - The Francisco Bay Inn provides spacious, comfortable accommodation for thousands of travelers each year. Our recently renovated rooms coupled with our excellent service will help make the Francisco Bay Inn a special part of your stay in San Francisco. Our amenities include FREE parking, FREE limited breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed internet access, In-room microwave / refrigerator, In-room iron / ironing board, cable TV, and FREE tour pickup. The Francisco Bay Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Francisco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francisco Bay Hotel San Francisco
Francisco Bay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing