We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,288)
Filter reviews
1,288 results
Traveller rating
530
602
116
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
602
116
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingpat's cafecoit towerfisherman's wharfcable cargreat locationlombard streetwithin walking distancebus stop rightsmall balconyfew blocksalcatraz ferrywashington squarelarge flat screen tvthird floorqueen bedwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 1,288 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Columbus Motor Inn is fantastic value and well located. We were happy with the room size and free parking. The rooms dont have a fridge but you can hire one for $5 a night if you nedd one. There is an ice machine and vending machine near the elevator. This hotel isn't the Ritz but a clean and comfortable hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nerida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have to admit that I was a little worried because the price was so incredibly reasonable. However, we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again if in the area. The location is fantastic; we were able to walk to many attractions and nearby restaurants with ease. The decor was updated and newer. Rooms were large with all the modern amenities expected (coffee maker, safe, flat screen TV, free WiFi, etc). Housekeeping did an excellent job of keeping the place spotless too.
We took the advice of other reviewers and asked for a room in the rear of the hotel so that we would not be bothered by Columbus Street noise while sleeping. This worked out perfectly and it was very quiet. We even had a great view of the Coit Tower and the Transamerica building. However, be advised that once a week trash starts being collected at 5:30am and lasts for a couple of hours. We were on the side of the building facing a restaurant/nightclub so they had lots of cans that needed emptying! I'm guessing if you were on the other side of the hotel, you would not have had that issue. Truthfully, it was not that big of a deal, especially considering the great rate that included free WiFi and free parking. There are a number of great breakfast spots nearby too. We especially enjoyed The Hollywood Cafe, which was recommended to us by the helpful guy manning the front desk one morning (sorry I cannot remember his name!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I and our three daughters thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for several reasons. First, our room was spacious, very clean, fresh, and comfortable. We were particularly impressed with the soft and unusually clean carpet.

Second, the two male attendants at the front desk were kind, professional, and helped us with everything we needed including directions, ideas, luggage, and so forth.

Third, we appreciated the free parking and close walking proximity to the wharf, the Pier, lots of restaurants, aquarium, Exploratorium, Alcatraz ferry, Ghiradelli Square, and Lombard Street. While we enjoyed walking most places, we had no problem finding a parking spot when we did take the car. They even let us park the car three hours after check-out time as we were at the Pier.

Fabulous deal for the location and great for families. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pacificnorthwestmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, as we were able to walk nearly everywhere we wanted to visit. We were only in San Fran a short period of time, so this hotel really helped us make the most of that time. This hotel is literally two blocks away from the cable car and walking distance to the wharf, the Alcatraz ferry, Lombard St., etc. The service was good - we were provided with free wifi and the desk called us a cab to the airport upon checkout.

The room was clean; however, the hotel itself was a bit dated. The elevator was very slow and did not drop you off back in the lobby. Neither did the stairs. For some reason, they both let us out in the parking garage area.

We did not use the free parking, as we arrived at the airport. It would have been nice to have a slight discount for not parking a car since a major perk of the hotel was that parking was including in the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the street if you're a light sleeper. Our room was facing the street, and we could hear people talking and yelling during the night. If you're not a light sleeper, you should be fine either way. It wasn't that loud.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Columbus Motor Inn. Facility is near everything - we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to visit, including Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and Ghirardelli’s Square. Also great was the proximity to transit lines for places a little too far to walk. The property is older but well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Fair amount of street noise in a busy city, so noise likely reduced by higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShickaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews