We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #47 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Midland,Mi.
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this place because of the reviews. The rate was decent and the free parking was great.
The parking garage can be a little tight at times but is sufficient. We had a suite with 3 beds on the front corner of the 3rd floor. They were upgrading the TVs to HD the day we arrived. We had 2 TVs and asked for a mini fridge in our room for drinks and fruit. We also had a balcony overlooking the street and the windows fully opened. The beds were fine and the bathroom was adequate. No breakfast area but there were plenty of places nearby. The location is about 3-4 blocks from Fishermans Wharf which was convenient. The bus stop was also right outside of the front door. We took the bus to the ballpark. We had no issues or problems with this place. I would stay here again. It is a nice affordable option in downtown SF.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    551
    100
    22
    12
See reviews for
419
487
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Husband & I stayed 4 nights in a king room which was very nice, comfortable, 3rd floor on Columbus Ave side. I am a light sleeper and was not awakened by any noises or early morning traffic. Hotel is within easy walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Sqare (get a sample of chocolate and buy some wonderful ice cream) & restaurants. Very friendly staff who offered tips for getting around town and even arranged shuttle service to airport via Lorrie's Shuttle Service and at a good price! Free parking but you won't need a car. Bus stops in front of hotel or hop on a trolley at Fisherman's Wharf.
Fast and free wi-fi
Negative:tub water is extremely hot, be careful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle at heart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night to explore the main tourist attractions in San Francisco. As for location, I really don't think you can beat it. As most reviews have mentioned, almost everything you'd want to see is within walking distance. Yes, it is a budget motel with dated rooms, but everything looked clean and it was comfortable enough for one night at the price ($128 plus tax). I couldn't believe that just one block down the street, the Marriott was charging their GUESTS $50 for overnight parking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fearlesstravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Not much to add about the overall hotel from all the other reviews. The location is great and when you get free parking, you have hit the jackpot. For room details... we had one of the "suites" (I think it was room 212?) which had one separate room with a queen bed and another room (like normal hotel room connected to the bath area) with a king bed. The TV in the room with king bed was very fuzzy and they couldn't fix it while we were there. Not a big deal considering you are sight-seeing all day, but at night, you will look at a scratchy\fuzzy TV. The housekeeping room was next door, too, so there was some noise coming from there in the morning. There is no view from this room but even if you were on the front of the hotel you would just be looking at the street (but you would have a little balcony). There is a unique irish pub\indian restaurant place across the street (great if you want a beer or snack before going to your room each night).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Along with majority of the reviews, it is in an excellent location, and a very short walk to several main tourist spots, we did not feel far from anywhere we wanted to visit.
Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable, but great value. The room was a bit dated, but we were only there to sleep after busy days sightseeing.
Very little noise at night, and comfy beds, pillows
The options for breakfast nearby seemed limited, but would recommend Pat's and Hollywood cafe.
For dinner, try Fior d'italia, it was very good and not touristy.
Would recommend as a good value base for seeing the city

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorksTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
521 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable 5 night stay here at the start of April. First of all - location - excellent, just at the North end of Columbus Ave, around the corner from the start (North end) of the Powell-Mason cable car line, so easy access to Union Square and everywhere inbetween. It takes 5 mins to walk to Fishermans Wharf (We walked down Jones St which takes you right into the heart of Fishermans Wharf). Great nearby places for breakfast - Hollywood Cafe at 530 N Point St, or even closer is Pat's Cafe at 2330 Taylor St which is just across from the hotel (level with the Bimbo 365 club - which is NOT a Gentlemans Club - did not appear to even be open while I was there) behind the 'International Sports Club' (which serves great Magaritas by the way!).
And what about the guest parking - its free! Most hotels in SF charge $40 plus tax per day so if you have a car with you you really should stay here! There is a second level to the car park, you just have to drive up the short driveway to the left of the hotel as you face the front, then take the first right.
The rooms are large for the city, clean, quiet (no street noise - I was at the back on the third floor) and there is a lift if you have heavy luggage. The staff are friendly and helpful, I really cannot recommend this place highly enough. Its in a great area, very safe, lots to do within walking distance (also a large Walgreens across the street) and the room options and prices are also extremely reasonable and competitive. Highly recommended - even from someone more used to Holiday Inns and Hiltons around the World!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a great stay here with my friends. The staff are nice and the rooms are simple but clean. It's the perfect location for sight-seeing around San Francisco. It's an easy walk to the piers and there are a lot of great Italian restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraG2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing