We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to Fisherman's Wharf, Huge rooms!”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location to Fisherman's Wharf, Huge rooms!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I were staying in SFO as part of our Honeymoon, so I researched accommodation in area on Tripadvisor extensively before booking.
Many of my friends recommended the Union Square area, however after reading reviews on this motel in Fisherman's Wharf, I decided it would be more suitable.
And I am so glad we booked here!
Columbus Motor Inn is only a 5 - 10 min walk from Fisherman's Wharf and 15 mins to the Alcatraz landing pier.
The cablecar to the CBD/Union Square is just down the road (Taylor St) and it is a short walk to the streetcars on The Embarcadero (catch them from Beach St).
We also made use of the buses and were able to catch 2 buses to the Golden Gate Bridge. We walked back to our motel from the Bridge along the foreshore which was approx 5.5km.
We felt safe at all times in the Fisherman's Wharf area and there were less homeless people in the area than in downtown SFO.
The room itself was fantastic! We had room 201 which faced Columbus Ave, but didnt have a balcony. No big deal, as you can open the curtains and windows for the breeze.
Our room had 2 x Double beds, which was the only negative thing about the room, as we found that the double beds were simply too small. Next time we would get a room with a King sized bed.
For an extra $5 per day we got a bar fridge in the room, which was handy for keeping milk, etc. To keep food costs down, we purchased breakfast cereal from the Walgreens which is 1 block up the road and had that in our room each morning.
Room also had coffee making facilities, good sized TV, room safe and a good hot shower.
Staff were always welcoming and polite whenever we entered or exited the motel, saying hello each time. We enjoyed the free apples each morning and took them for our morning tea. Male receptionist (bald man, sorry I dont know his name) was always polite and assisted us with a map and directions to a local laundry mat on Chestnut St.
The motel also offers free undercover parking, which is rarely heard of in SFO.
My husband and I plan on returning to SFO and we would definitely stay at this motel again due to its location, big rooms and friendly staff.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Columbus Ave have large windows and let in lots of light. Rooms next to the nightclub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millisynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    567
    107
    24
    13
See reviews for
437
502
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is nice, clean and basic and best of all is cheap for San Fran! Close to most tourist locations and very nice desk person. They also let us check our bags on check out day so we could enjoy the local sights longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelonemco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been staying at the Columbus Motor Inn for over thirty years, every time I visit San Francisco. The rates are reasonable, the rooms clean and comfortable. There is parking FREE if you rent a car. Other hotels charge as much as $50/night. The Columbus has an outstanding location, just a five minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and is around the corner from Chinatown. There are fabulous restaurants within a 5 minute walk. If you're heading to San Francisco, be sure to book a room here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great location,easy 5min walk to fishermans wharf.10min to Lt Italy15min to Alcatraz Landing.Short walk to Lombard St <but it up hill>.Big clean rooms,helpful staff, for a great price.
Highly recomend

Room Tip: Get room away from ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rod3085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we stayed at this hotel several years ago, it was down at the heels. Now the rooms have been redecorated, and we were pleased with the view from room 208 (it included everything from Coit tower to the Transamerica building). The man at the desk was helpful. Good mattress.
Free parking is a plus. We parked our car at about 1:00 and went sightseeing until our room was ready at 3:00 p.m.

Room Tip: Room 208 is large and quiet with two queen beds and good city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There were 4 of us in the room. We had a two room suite, with 1 king, and two queen beds. I couldn't believe how large the room was! Beds were comfortable. Indoor parking.

Very good value for San Francisco. Close to all public transportation, including trolleys, and walk to Fisherman's Wharf.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. It met our needs. We were out and about exploring the city all day, so really only slept in the room. The room was nothing special, old and not immaculately clean. Felt safe. If you are in need of a cost effective, average place to sleep in a good location (fisherman's wharf, cable car lines, Lombard street, etc) then this fits the bill. If you are looking for a nice hotel to relax and spend time in - this is not the place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
2,053 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,111 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#116 of 229 in San Francisco
811 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing