We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience was Rewarding”
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #54 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Arab, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenience was Rewarding”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was very convenient for commuting. Free parking was definitely a plus. We shared a suite with another couple and made it just fine with only one bath for three nights. Must be very good friends to do this as only one bedroom had a bath entrance. The air conditioner unit was in one room and made it hard to adjust for the 2nd room. There was a new restaurant close by for a great breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    574
    110
    24
    13
See reviews for
442
508
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the CMI from 6/2-6/8. The
room was a bit dated, wi-fi was slow, and the TV took awhile to turn on but, we spent most of the time exploring SF. You can't beat the location, comfort, and the free parking. This hotel is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and cable car turn-around is a block away. This hotel is an excellent base because of its location and transportation options. There were also a lot of breakfast choices nearby-Hollywood Cafe, Darren's, Pats and Starbucks are all within a 2-4 minute walk. We will definitely return to CMI on our next visit to SF.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank momilomilomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here June12-16, 2014. At first glance it looks like a tired old hotel that's seen better days and it is.
I have to say, though the rooms were a little old looking, they were very clean. The walls were thin so earplugs came in handy. The TV in our room (106) took a few tries to turn on, but we didn't spend time in our room.
On a positive note, the price was right, the location was fantastic! We didn't have a car so we walked everywhere. Pier 39 is just a few blocks away. The hotel is close to the Italian area as well as walking distance to Chinatown.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful.
There's a bus stop right outside (#30) and it took us right to Market street to the Bart station.
Considering the cost to stay in San Francisco and the location of the Columbus, I'd stay here again. Btw, the neighbourhood felt safe to walk around at night.

Room Tip: Request something at the back. There's a bar across the street that can be noisy. Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this hotel on TripAdvisor recommendations, due to the fact we needed 2 queen beds in room. This was one of only a few hotels we could find with 2 queen beds and booked for the rate and location also.
We could not have been happier. Room 108 was very large, clean, at the end of the hall and very quiet. The only complaint was the musty smell throughout.
Don't expect a big, fancy lobby or dining option, because you will be disappointed.
You are within walking distance to the Wharf, Pier 39, Lombard Street and the cable cars!!

If ever I'm back in S.F., or others ask where to stay...I'll always recommend this hotel and room 108!!

Room Tip: Room 108...very large, at end of hallway, quiet. Great view of Coit Tower and Transamerica Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is in a super location, especially if you enjoy a few beers, as there are many great local bars. Negative things were - loud ice machine in the hallway, no fridge in the room, that said, I would definitely stay here again. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Just bare in mind that this only a good place to rest up, you don't want to spend much time in your room here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Declan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An other place in San Francisco where you don't pay for parking your car. Located in the heart of the city. Coffee houses, markets, restaurant all walking distance. The room are ok. I stayed in the back on the top floor overlooking the city. Very good view. Window frame cut very low, (way below hip level) and fully opens. Can be risky with small child. Easy check in and check out.

Room Tip: Back room on top floor as a good view of the Coit tower and the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonteCristo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second stay at The Columbus Motor Inn. Location great - just a short walk to the Wharf, cable car nearby and Pat's Cafe for breakfast. We didn't have a car on this occasion, but the parking is free. We arrived early and tired from after our flight from the UK - not a problem our room was ready, said Noah who checked is in, that was great news so we had a coffee a short rest before heading to Italian district for something to eat. Yes the hotel is an older property, but our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter as the road is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
821 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
2,119 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 229 in San Francisco
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing