We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #47 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Motor Inn was just as we had hoped - clean, friendly, and in a great location. We walked everywhere: to the Wharf, Ghirardelli Chocolates, two great breakfast stops (Pat's Cafe- around the corner and Joanie's Happy Days Diner- further down Columbus Ave) . Even our San Francisco Tour (Dylan's Tours) picked us up on Columbus Ave . Free parking was great since we didn't drive anywhere. The Motor Inn called a cab for us to take to dinner one night. It was very inexpensive and worth the convenience. We bought some bottled water and snacks at Walgreens which was just a block away. Our room was very quiet and we could see Coit Tower from the window. The price was right too!

Room Tip: Friends who stayed in the same hotel with us thought the ice machine that was right outside their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    551
    100
    22
    12
See reviews for
419
487
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I do not like to write negative reviews, but The Colombus Motor Inn is not my cup of tea. The biggest problem is a musty, moldy and dusty smell inside the rooms. I do not believe they are cleaned and maintained properly. I was scratching all over for the 2 nights we stayed there and when I did check out early, the itchiness stopped. I can't prove this was caused by the Inn but it was heck of a coincidence. Yes, the price is lower than other hotels in the area and yes there is free parking. However, you get what you pay for and rarely is something free. There is a reason why they were priced lower. There are NO amenities at this hotel. The lobby is the garage office. You then have the motel part. That's it. The location is the motel's biggest asset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward B, Manager at Columbus Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Sorry your experience was not a good one. We try our best to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible, and judging by other reviews we do succeed most times. I hope that if you return to SF you might try one of our sister properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here while touring the city. Dated décor, but wasn't there for that. Clean and oh so convenient to walk almost anywhere in the Wharf area. Free parking was also a plus. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Even checked us in for our airline. Many great eateries in walking distance. Especially liked the Italian options. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was very convenient for commuting. Free parking was definitely a plus. We shared a suite with another couple and made it just fine with only one bath for three nights. Must be very good friends to do this as only one bedroom had a bath entrance. The air conditioner unit was in one room and made it hard to adjust for the 2nd room. There was a new restaurant close by for a great breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the CMI from 6/2-6/8. The
room was a bit dated, wi-fi was slow, and the TV took awhile to turn on but, we spent most of the time exploring SF. You can't beat the location, comfort, and the free parking. This hotel is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and cable car turn-around is a block away. This hotel is an excellent base because of its location and transportation options. There were also a lot of breakfast choices nearby-Hollywood Cafe, Darren's, Pats and Starbucks are all within a 2-4 minute walk. We will definitely return to CMI on our next visit to SF.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank momilomilomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here June12-16, 2014. At first glance it looks like a tired old hotel that's seen better days and it is.
I have to say, though the rooms were a little old looking, they were very clean. The walls were thin so earplugs came in handy. The TV in our room (106) took a few tries to turn on, but we didn't spend time in our room.
On a positive note, the price was right, the location was fantastic! We didn't have a car so we walked everywhere. Pier 39 is just a few blocks away. The hotel is close to the Italian area as well as walking distance to Chinatown.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful.
There's a bus stop right outside (#30) and it took us right to Market street to the Bart station.
Considering the cost to stay in San Francisco and the location of the Columbus, I'd stay here again. Btw, the neighbourhood felt safe to walk around at night.

Room Tip: Request something at the back. There's a bar across the street that can be noisy. Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked this hotel on TripAdvisor recommendations, due to the fact we needed 2 queen beds in room. This was one of only a few hotels we could find with 2 queen beds and booked for the rate and location also.
We could not have been happier. Room 108 was very large, clean, at the end of the hall and very quiet. The only complaint was the musty smell throughout.
Don't expect a big, fancy lobby or dining option, because you will be disappointed.
You are within walking distance to the Wharf, Pier 39, Lombard Street and the cable cars!!

If ever I'm back in S.F., or others ask where to stay...I'll always recommend this hotel and room 108!!

Room Tip: Room 108...very large, at end of hallway, quiet. Great view of Coit Tower and Transamerica Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#53 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing