We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #102 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a decent motel .Tidy ,clean . i have checked in the motel about mid night and we were desperately looking for a cheap motel to catch some sleep.They have upgraded to Suite because they have run out of double bedrooms.besides,They are helpful and tell you where to go and etc. after 9 pm please keep quiet because is a small compound area. noises are easily heard by the next room .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a large & quiet room with fridge, microwave & coffe-maker and king-sized bed.
The continental breakfast was boring but healthy!!
ALL services were excellent. Great location: near bus stop, grocery store and pharmacy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psofios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a motel. It was in a nice area of San Francisco which is within walking distance (10-15 min) of fisherman's wharf (25 to Alcatraz dock). It appears to be family owned and they are helpful in tell you where to go, where NOT to go (always helpful in a new city) and things in the area worth seeing. This is not a luxury hotel by any means but I would recommend this hotel to a traveler who is looking to be out seeing the sights not spending a lot of time in the room. Taxi to the airport costs about $40 and is close to the trolley line.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8travels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The castle inn is in a great location and has free parking, but the rooms are getting on a bit, the lack off a safe is also a worry, especially with the mesh windows.

Helpful staff offer advice and recommendations on the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isthatBHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As previous reviews stated the parking is tight at this hotel, but we unloaded our luggage easily and went to our room which was a two room suite on the Broadway side, this was a little noisy but ear plugs helped and you are in a city so you have to expect some noise. There was a microwave and small fridge provided but no dishes or utensils which would have made things easier. Beds were very comfortable and front desk staff were knowledgeable and friendly offering plenty of ideas for things to do in the area. We didn't have the included breakfast. Our experience at this hotel was good and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Castle Inn for anyone wanting a good, clean, hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I made a reservation more than a month in advance for a future stay. To my surprise, several days before the cancellation deadline, I discovered that the hotel charged my credit card ten times the rate - TWICE. The hotel eventually rectified it by reversing the charge, though the initial respsonse from the owner was somewhat flippant and it was a major inconvenience since it took a few days for the charge to fall off. So keep an eye on your charges after booking.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank NYHOME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here in February with my in-laws, and my sister in-law. We stayed in the family suite and my sister in-law stayed in a room that attached to ours. The room was clean and quite nice. It had a huge walkin closet and a bedroom with king sized bed with flat screen. The main room had 2 couches, flat screen tv, a table with 2 chairs, and another king sized bed. The huge closet had a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom had a tub/shower and wasn't huge, but we didn't have a problem with 4 adults and a toddler. The best part about this hotel is the free parking! The parking is TIGHT though! You only get one car per room and we thought we would get two spaces for the family room since it had two bedrooms, but no. Luckily we were able to find a spot across the street for a few hours and the manager let us park our car at the hotel at night when they were sure they wouldn't need the extra space. We really appreciated this. The hotel is only a few blocks from the cable car stops (although it was a uphill walk). The hotel was right next to a Walgreens and a Starbucks too! :) We ordered pizza from a pizza place right down the block and it was great! They do offer a continental breakfast that you can grab from their tiny office. Granola bars, coffee, oj, muffins, oatmeal. Just the basics, but for the price it was fine. Hope to stay here in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abidella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
614 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
1,052 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#136 of 230 in San Francisco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
1,591 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
776 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#144 of 230 in San Francisco
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £82 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing