We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked this place.”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #109 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I really liked this place.”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have rated this place a 4 because my husband wasn't so keen.. I think he would have preferred a place closer to Fisherman's Wharf, but he doesn't understand the cost/benefit ratios of the area like I do after all of me research! This place was in an excellent location - very safe, right next to the best restaurant street - and the BEST "Rice Pudding Shop" which we ate at every night after dinner.. We were walking distance to Fishermans Wharf too. Just a tip if heading to Alcatraz (prebook!!). For our family of 4 this was a good choice, and the service staff were very friendly and helpful - don't expect too much from the breakfast though!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Here_we_Go2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    332
    118
    37
    19
See reviews for
186
228
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Found this hotel on Hotels.com which offered a good nightly rate for such a good location but found the hotel's website which offerred an even better rate. Booked on the hotel's website and saved at least 25%. Hotel is located in the Russain Hill neighborhood on Broadway. Walk 10-12 minutes west on Broadway and you're in China Town, just two and a half blocks from the Powell/Hyde cable car line, city bus stops across the street, wharf is 10 minutes away by bus, etc....so a good location. Hotel offers free WiFi and breakfast (generic continental) as well as rooms that were very clean. Free parking which saves additional $$ because it seems that most other hotels charged a daily rate. For a basic no frills hotel in the heart of San Fran. this one is worth you time.

***booked in December and paid around $79 per night but prices will rise to the $169+ in high season***

Room Tip: Book at hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The motel was well situated for us near Pacific Heights and it had great value for the price since it included free parking (expensive and hard to find in San Francisco) and free wi-fi (unlike most wi-fi at most hotels you don't need a password to access their server). You also get a microwave and fridge in your relatively big room. I found the service quite good and even though we arrived very late the 1st night, the staff had our key ready and available after they told us where it was through their after hours phone .The slight negatives were the tight parking access- I don't recommend trying to bring a Hummer in there, it was a bit noisy from the activities of neighbouring guests and the front desk person twice validated my electronic room access key for fewer days than my total stay. All in all a very good value.

Room Tip: Take a room on the third floor so you don't get woken by the guests above walking on the relativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a motel. There are many other motels in the area which are much cheaper and better but do not list on expedia/tripadvisor. If you are interested in a motel search outside of expedia/tripadvisor -- you'll find better deals.

Pros: free parking, free internet
Cons: motel, small room, tiny bathroom, relatively run down, rooms face a wall

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Free parking is included, decedent central location (although a bit of a wok from anything but close to the bus lines). Room was old but good sized. Fairly clean, although with the age it didn't feel spotless. Average breakfast buffet in the morning. Not the quietest place. Bedding so so. Check in & out was easy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a decent motel .Tidy ,clean . i have checked in the motel about mid night and we were desperately looking for a cheap motel to catch some sleep.They have upgraded to Suite because they have run out of double bedrooms.besides,They are helpful and tell you where to go and etc. after 9 pm please keep quiet because is a small compound area. noises are easily heard by the next room .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a large & quiet room with fridge, microwave & coffe-maker and king-sized bed.
The continental breakfast was boring but healthy!!
ALL services were excellent. Great location: near bus stop, grocery store and pharmacy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psofios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
981 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 228 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#112 of 228 in San Francisco
488 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
748 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#144 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing