We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #107 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Tirgu Mures, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, clean”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My stay at Castle Inn was really great. it is very close to the bus station, and arriving earlier than the check-in time I had no problem leaving my suitcase at the front desk. The hotel is very close to Van Ness Avenue, one of San Fran's main streets, the Marina is a 20 minute walk, Chinatown and other neighborhoods in close proximity.
The staff was very friendly, the room was great - mine being on the third floor I was able to see the tip of the Golden Gate Bridge from my window, the bed was huge, everything was clean, and the price was more than reasonable.
I will definitely stay here when I return to SF and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozsef77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    336
    119
    37
    19
See reviews for
189
231
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had two nights on a short trip in San Francisco,
The hotel suited us due to the proximity to all the major places, the most important was the parking and reasonable price.
The hotel staff was kind and helped us to orient ourselves in places of entertainment close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DovGazit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room was very spacious, included a mini fridge, dressing area, and a fresh pleasent smell. Clean, quiet, and safe FREE parking. You can't ask for more than that in San Francisco. For the price this is a top notch place to stay! We will be back and I would refer friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foragoodtimecall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here, the staff were so friendly and helpful. It's a nice safe location close to restaurants and bars, about a half hour walk to pier 39. We stayed upstairs which was nice and quiet, free parking was great. Rooms were comfortable and clean, no complaints :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy_louise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our stay at the Castle Inn was fabulous. We lived on Russian Hill for 20 years, so we were familiar with the neighborhood, and the location is terrific. Not only that, free parking, under cover, is guaranteed. Those things alone are worth the price in San Francisco, but in the Castle Inn, the room was comfortable and the service quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked at this Inn on 4-Mar-2014 for 2 nights, awesome stay excecpt the a/c didn't work in room 114. Other than that the room was awesome, clean and 1 floor up from the office on the side. There was free parking below us and right in front was another building with few windows and it was very quiet. The manager give us a map and maked the key places to go and the bus/cable line to take. Walking distance to EVERY THING. Great local stores just down the street including a bagel shop a pet shop, store and pharmacy's. There is an elevator which is awesome and they have a breakfast but we never tried it. The one thing I really noticed were the large pots of flowers and trees really made the place cozy. I would stay there again that's for sure They just need to work on the a/c for air circulation.

Room Tip: room 114 was very quiet but the a/c didn't work in that it didn't cool the room down at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindascamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Castle Inn in San Fran for three nights, the hotel is tucked away off the street on Broadway situated close to Chinatown and within walking distance of the Fishermans Wharf and Polk St which is great for cheap dinners and close to loads of cosy and friendly local bars.

Our room was very clean with a microwave and fridge and a complimentary breakfast every morning.

We would definitely recommend staying a night or two at the Castle Inn the staff are very friendly and you can't complain for $54 a night!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 229 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing