We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff. Free Parking in San Francisco!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #108 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff. Free Parking in San Francisco!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in June 2014 for three nights. This is a basic accommodation but exactly what we were expecting as we travel regularly both in the US and abroad and this was not our first time in San Francisco. You just cannot beat the free parking, which is very hard to find in San Francisco! The location is great as well with everything you need just within a block, including a natural food Store and a pharmacy. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful! Go Castle Inn!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    335
    119
    37
    19
See reviews for
187
231
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was exactly what I was hoping for with our stay here, we have just returned from a long US trip, we travelled from San Francisco over to NYC and then south to Orlando.

This was by no means the best hotel we stayed in but I would probably say Marshall (front desk) was the most helpful hotel staff member we spoke to.

He told us all the best places to go, places to stay away from. He upgraded our room and the 4 of us had a lovely large bedroom with a spare room for 2 of us.

Parking was free, although quite tight for the size of car we had.

I thought it was a great location on Broadway, It was close to Lombard Street and we took a nice chilled walk to Fisherman's Wharf which did take 30-35 minutes. Taxi wasn't too expensive either.

I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel and I'd stay there again if I ever return to SF.

Room Tip: We didn't choose a room, we were given the room on the first floor (marked S for special we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Begg_rfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We picked this hotel because it had 2 queen beds (which is hard to find in San Fran), had free parking, was in a safe neighbourhood, wasn't terribly pricey (again hard to find in San Fran) and got pretty good reviews. It did have all of those things, but also a lot of negatives. The first room we had smelled like urine, the air conditioner was broken and the curtains didn't close. I asked to be moved the next day and we were, although the staff didn't seem concerned with the problems and only cared when we would vacate so they could rent it out! Our next room was better, but the shower didn't work well and the toilet ran for 2 minutes after it was flushed. The room does have a fridge, microwave and free, but slow wifi. The place definitely needs updating, but for the price and location in San Francisco it is a good choice, if you can get a decent room.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back as it is quieter. Check to make sure everything in your room works before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with 2 other couples (and 1 child) for 2 nights. We were just doing a quick stay in San Francisco on our way up to Sonoma. We picked this hotel due to the great reviews and free parking. When we arrived there were just enough spots for our 2 cars. Please note that there aren't too many parking spots (approximately 15 altogether in the basement and ground floor combined) so we chose to walk around a lot but we got lucky when we did look for parking. When we checked in, the hotel manager gave us a map with directions on how to walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Chinatown. He also highlighted some great points of interest in the city. We dropped off our bags and headed out to check out Polk Street. After lunch at Nick's Cripsy Tacos (across the street), we headed to Fisherman's Wharf. We walked around, sampled some of the eats (bread bowl and chowder at Boudin and a burger at In N Out) and walked back along Lombard Street. It was a great workout for us after eating so much as the hills were VERY challenging. We also walked up the crooked part of Lombard Street and then stopped by Greens Sports Bar on Polk Street to watch the Kings-Rangers game over a few beers. The next day, we went down to the hotel office to pick up our breakfast. We had some yogurt, a granola bar, some oatmeal and a banana. It was quite filling! Then, as suggested by our hotel manager, we walked the tunnel to Chinatown. It was a quick 10-minute walk (but a little loud/fume-filled at times). We walked to the Cable Car Museum, grabbed dim sum snacks along the way, and then walked back through the tunnel to our hotel. On the last day, we had an early ferry to Alcatraz and the hotel manager's wife was very nice and allowed us to store our bags in their apartment next to the office (even though we were going to check out). She also said we could leave our cars in the lot as long as we were back before 2pm. This saved us some time/money in trying to find parking near Pier 33. The rooms were pretty basic and looked dated so this hotel won't be for everyone. However, the room had a mini-fridge (with a freezer), a microwave, HBO/cable TV and a pretty good bathroom/shower (we didn't end up trying out the wifi)! So for our purposes, it was a great place to stay...great price, great location, and free parking!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutToLunch925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was listed by Mt Zion as a close to hospital discount for patients????? I saw no discount, at 200.00 for 1 night, I felt robbed. First look at the room with its worn and torn carpet and bedspreads from motel 6 worn out mattress I was ready to leave, but the positive was that they have free parking at the hotel not blocks away, the bathroom has been remodeled nice tub and shower, it was quiet, and a elevator so you don't have to carry your stuff up flights of stairs, the neighborhood has several restaurants, bars and bakeries/coffee houses a neighborhood market and Walgreen's. The staff was friendly and helpful and live at the location. It just seems unfair to charge that much if you can show proof of hospital admit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23sjgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed here and we still loved it. Great location in a local neighborhood with GREAT restaurants. Especially the Hyde St. Seafood House & Raw Bar (I'm leaving a review on that one separately). Warning though - in talking to the managers, they'll be leaving soon so I'm hoping that the new managers will keep the place up. Like the other reviews, the breakfast is better for snacking or a really light breakfast but again, great places to go in the area. Parking is limited, the smaller the car the better, but is free! The rooms are comfortable but a bit outdated. Down side is that although you don't hear sounds from other rooms, it seems like all sounds come through the windows. Still perfect for the price and location - would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taranell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voghera, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights.
Good location to visit SF. It's close to the bus station and there is a free parking...very useful in SF!
Room (with refrigerator) was quite, clean and comfortable.
Only negative point the breakfast. It was just yougurt, fruit and bars (to take away). We grabbed them to have some snacks during sightseeing and then we went out for classic american breakfast.
If you want to spend most of the time in town this accommodation is ok.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonny3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
575 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#115 of 228 in San Francisco
493 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
751 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 228 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing