We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbus Avenue - Road Bike Hire”

Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike the Bridge! At Blazing Saddles Bike Rental and Tours we want our guests to come away from a day on our bikes feeling as if they have just experienced the very best that our city has to offer. Whether it is a local resident enjoying our state of the art equipment or a visitor seeing the city for the first time, we encourage our riders to enjoy the bike friendly environment of San Francisco. Blazing Saddles was one of the first in the industry to develop a proprietary map of suggested routes and points of interest, and we have been a major pioneer in promoting cycling through the Presidio National Park, over the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito and Tiburon. All of our seven locations in San Francisco have easy access to a car-free bike path that winds around the city by the bay. We have the largest fleet of bikes in San Francisco, including state of the art electric bikes, tandems and kids' bikes. We also have high performance road and mountain bikes for those who want to explore Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt. Tamalpais State Park. We rent bikes 365 days a year and are open at 8am every day. For those that want something more, we offer a daily tour with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. No reservations necessary.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Columbus Avenue - Road Bike Hire”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rented road bikes from these guys twice last week. Carbon Fuji/105 was just fine, Spec' Roubaix/Ultegra was a great bike. Took my own pedals which they fitted, adjust of seat height and off for a test ride. Once I was happy I was on my way with all the local info I needed for a great ride up Hawk Hill and into Marin County. Quite challenging riding, spectacular views, 1 terrifying descent, all good. This branch caters for the experienced cyclist....Thanks Marc and James for an all-round great experience and the $5 discount on the second rental.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt o O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for coming back to us twice! We really appreciate our returning customers as well as their feedback. We're delighted to hear you were satisfied with both the models you rented from us, in addition to the ride itself into Marin. I will be sure to let Mark and James know that you appreciated their services. We hope to see you again next time you are in SF. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,699
    748
    254
    147
    269
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Vacation in San Francisco”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My daughter and I rented two bikes for a trip over the Golden Gate to Sausalito. The crew was fantastic. They were friendly and did everything they could to make sure our trip went well. Excellent overview of our route, checked out the bike and processed everything quickly. We were very impressed .

Thank you Jefferson, Shannon and Nick.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MR_California_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We take a lot of pride in our customer service, so we love to read reviews like yours. We're happy to hear you were impressed with the efficiency and friendliness of our customer service. We will be sure to let Shannon, Nicky, and Jefferson know you appreciated their efforts as well. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, attentive to family needs”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite SF experience--staff kept it easygoing and flexible with option of using prepaid ferry tickets and multiple drop off options. Our kids are 8,10, and 12 and the bikes were fit perfectly and in great condition for an amazing Golden Gate Bridge experience. The best way to do it--beats walking or a vehicle by far. Our family spent $139 for 4 fun-filled hours. We opted to bike the bridge back, as well, and returned the ferry tickets.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Sounds like you had a great day of family fun! We're happy to hear you felt your family was well taken care of and everyone's needs were met. We agree - biking is the best way to experience the Golden Gate Bridge...It's hard to beat! We're delighted it was your favorite SF experience and hope to see you again in the future. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ouch!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This was certainly an experience that must be had by all! The staff were extremely friendly, however I had a few difficulties with my bike. My seat would not stay up, which caused me a bit of strain from the poor postural position I was forced to ride in (my lower back is still quite sore). The lady that had given us the bike had noticed this issue and did not provide another seat or bike before our departure, but merely put the seat back up and thought it would be fine. Other then that this was a great experience!

Helpful?
Thank amberrmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We are truly sorry you experienced some difficulty with your seat. They are quick-release posts, so they are usually quite easy to adjust. This perhaps explains why our employee did not immediately switch out your bike at our store. However, if there is ever a mechanical issue with our bikes we encourage customers to call our offices and when possible, we are happy to provide roadside assistance. This information is included in our orientation - we apologize if you were not made aware of this. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again! -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlongton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Bikes”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my mom, dad, and brother went to San Francisco for the week and wanted to bike the Golden Gate Bridge. We went to Blazing Saddles and picked up bikes for the day. Good service, terrible bikes. They must be 20 years old. The brakes are rusty and the bikes can barely change gears. I don't recommend it at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheKidsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We are truly sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your experience and our equipment. We have tried to contact you privately to address this issue, but never received a response. We take a lot of pride in our customer service as well as our products, so we take reviews like yours very seriously. We do our best to keep our bikes in good working order - but of course, mechanical problems can occur at times, and if that is the case, we are always happy to switch out the bike and/or provide roadside assistance when possible. We encourage customers to contact us directly if they have ANY problems with their bike at any point during their trip. We are sorry you did not choose to do this. Thanks for your feedback. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing