We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to explore the city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours

Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike the Bridge! At Blazing Saddles Bike Rental and Tours we want our guests to come away from a day on our bikes feeling as if they have just experienced the very best that our city has to offer. Whether it is a local resident enjoying our state of the art equipment or a visitor seeing the city for the first time, we encourage our riders to enjoy the bike friendly environment of San Francisco. Blazing Saddles was one of the first in the industry to develop a proprietary map of suggested routes and points of interest, and we have been a major pioneer in promoting cycling through the Presidio National Park, over the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito and Tiburon. All of our seven locations in San Francisco have easy access to a car-free bike path that winds around the city by the bay. We have the largest fleet of bikes in San Francisco, including state of the art electric bikes, tandems and kids' bikes. We also have high performance road and mountain bikes for those who want to explore Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt. Tamalpais State Park. We rent bikes 365 days a year and are open at 8am every day. For those that want something more, we offer a daily tour with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. No reservations necessary.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to explore the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I rented a bike from Blazing Saddles and the team there couldn't have been nicer and more attentive to getting me set up on the right bike and off and pedaling! A terrific way to see the city, bike over the Golden Gate, and have lunch in Sausalito. There are probably several bike companies but I highly recommend Blazing Saddles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for recommending our company! We do our best to provide customers with the best care possible, so we're pleased to hear you found our customer service to be attentive and friendly. Sounds like you had a great, fun-filled day of biking adventure. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again in the future. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,648
    719
    247
    141
    263
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Blazing Saddles on the Golden gate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Was a wonderful experience to bike the Golden Gate and go down to Sausolito, All the details were well taken care of; explaining the route, map, water, bike (adjusted for height), test ride, helmet, lock, ferry ticket and the payment... Since this was my first ride - was quite pleasantly surprised with all of it falling into place with no hiccups. Would have loved to hear of a choice of bikes to ride on but was quite happy with what i got as well. Took a little a bit of time to process all the information I got but I think the details where well covered. Since I did mostly biking ( not combining it with any other activities) I enjoyed every bit of it. The ferry ride was interesting given that you have so many similar looking bikes - would have loved to have something to tag it with so that nobody walks away with your bike. (Nobody did but was a bit stressed out thinking about it)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you felt prepared for your ride and that the important details were taken care of. Customers are free to request any kind of bike they wish, but if they do not, we recommend our comfort-hybrid bike which is specially designed for the route we encourage customers to take. Next time do not hesitate to ask us about our other options. As far the ferry, we have personnel that assist customers in claiming their bike at the end of the ride. We hope to see you again in the future. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scenic Ride, Some lessons learned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Of course riding through San Francisco over the Golden Bridge is a great thing to do. Beautiful.

The blazing saddle store near the wharf rented my friend and I the bikes, helmets, maps and had water to purchase. The staff was nice and friendly. The bikes worked, however the tires were very, very worn (I didn't notice this until we were near the bridge). The staff mentioned that we could only return to that specific store.

The route is beautiful but some signs difficult to see. We needed to stop a few times to make sure we were on the right path or road. Not all riding is done on bike paths - We were on busy, narrow roads (this wasn't clear when we rented).

We were provided a "free appetizer" card from blazzing saddles for a resturant in salslito. When we got to the restaurant (the first resturant on the road into salsilito) we found out that there were restrictions and a different menu to order from. The experience was a little suspect and the card used obviously to get us in the door.

After lunch we took the ferry back to San Francisco. This was a bonus to the outing as the ride was enjoyable and scenic. There are no blazing saddle shops at the ferry location so we had to ride to the store near fishermans wharf. I agree with the reviewer that stated blazing saddles would benefit from a shop at the location as navigating the business travelers at the port and the traffic back to the wharf was exhausting after a few hour trek. They would also benefit from allowing customers to drop of bikes at other stores for an addditional fee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Modoc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed the beautiful ride over the bridge into Sausalito. Regarding your tires, you probably had our bikes with smooth tread which are specifically designed for a smoother ride. Many people are not accustomed to this design and mistake it for worn tires. As far as returning bikes to different locations - we do currently offer that service for a small fee. This is the first time we have had a complaint about the free appetizer card amenity. We will look into it. Next time, I would suggest taking the Blue & Gold Fleet ferry if you would like to be dropped off closer to our locations. Thanks for your feedback and I hope this response clears up some of your concerns. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bike the bridge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stop by and rent some bikes and make the trek over to Crissy Field and bike the Golden Gate Bridge! We had a overall good experience renting bikes from Blazing Saddles and enjoyed the convenient location right in Fishermans Wharf! Only complaint was the over the top employee who went right into a canned spiel without asking what we were interested in doing. Would have liked a more personalized experience rather than the rehearsed spiel. Information overload!

Helpful?
Thank Wickniley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your overall experience with our company. We are sorry you felt that our employee was over the top - most customers enjoy our staff's enthusiasm and friendliness, as well as the information we provide. We are sorry you did not feel this way. Despite this, we hope to see you again in the future! -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Columbus Avenue - Road Bike Hire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rented road bikes from these guys twice last week. Carbon Fuji/105 was just fine, Spec' Roubaix/Ultegra was a great bike. Took my own pedals which they fitted, adjust of seat height and off for a test ride. Once I was happy I was on my way with all the local info I needed for a great ride up Hawk Hill and into Marin County. Quite challenging riding, spectacular views, 1 terrifying descent, all good. This branch caters for the experienced cyclist....Thanks Marc and James for an all-round great experience and the $5 discount on the second rental.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt o O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffblazing, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks for coming back to us twice! We really appreciate our returning customers as well as their feedback. We're delighted to hear you were satisfied with both the models you rented from us, in addition to the ride itself into Marin. I will be sure to let Mark and James know that you appreciated their services. We hope to see you again next time you are in SF. -Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing