We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegantly Comfortable”
Review of Level III

Level III
Reserve with OpenTable
Level III is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #690 of 5,735 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cross street: Mason
Transit: Powell St. BART & Muni Stations
Description: Our Look-Vibrant, Energetic, Sophisticated. Our Feel-Social, Communal, Relaxed. Our Food-Flavorful, Shareable, Memorable. Experience social food and modern cocktails at a new level - Level Three. An exciting and stylish new concept in social food and cocktails in the newly transformed JW Marriott San Francisco. Perfectly located in the heart of Union Square, this chic restaurant and lounge features a menu of delicious sharable plates crafted from the freshest, local, seasonal ingredients complemented with an extraordinary cocktail menu custom-created by acclaimed local mixologist H. Ehrmann. Situated on the third floor lobby level of the hotel highlighted by a 16 story atrium, you can dine on dramatic menu items like Seared Jumbo Scallops with Forest Mushrooms, Lobster Meat and Hobb’s Bacon; Fish Tacos with Lime Mango Salsa and Avocado Crush; Slow Braised Ale Short Ribs; and Grilled Angus Sliders.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegantly Comfortable”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The level III atrium at the J W Marriott near Union Square serves up a unique array of tasty delights geared toward teasing the palate in a relaxed yet elegant venue.

Working a couple of blocks away from the lounge makes it so easy to stop by after work and have a delicious dinner with drinks and soothing music by the Sony Holland duo.

When you walk in the hotel you are immediately greeted by trendy artwork by Chihuly and a host of others. The artwork sets the tone for the venue.

The lighting makes it so easy to get great photos and the sound emanating from the musical performance is sheer perfection. I have frequented many a musical venue in SF and can honestly say that the sound in this level III room is fantastic.

The room itself is spacious and very inviting. There is a bar complete with overhead big screen tv's for you sports fans out there and then there is the ever relaxing overstuffed chairs by the fireplace which allows you to warm up and listen to the beautiful music during their happy hour. I usually go during the time the Sony Holland duo is performing as it just soothes me soul and lends an irresistible feel to the ambiance.

Now to the food. Their menu caters to every taste with a host of wonderful drinks and house wines. I personally love their house Merlot and order it each time I am there. If you get there during happy hour between 5 and 8, you have the choice of either ordering from their happy hour menu or their dinner menu. I have ordered from both.

My favorite dishes are the sliders, classic club, scallops, crab cakes, flatbread pizza, bistro fries and more. I know I'm forgetting something. Each dish is tasty, filling and just all around GOOD. I have never had a bad experience with the food there.

The waitstaff is impeccable. They are friendly, efficient and cater to your every need. Even when it's busy, they are right there ready to serve you. What I like most is that they generally love their job. Megan and Ryan in particular who I normally always see during happy hour are fantastic.

Let me just say also that if you are in SF and want to experience a nice, friendly and warm venue particularly when the Sony Holland duo is playing there, this is the place. It is my number one go to venue after a long day at work. Love it there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jodapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“A real gem...!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Level III resaturant at JW Marriott in the heart of the City just two blocks from Union Square is a real gem! Just like a well kept secret. Very good food, friendly service and a warm and inviting atmosphere surrounded by the impressive open architecture of the wide atrium with a beautiful fountain and sculpture in the center... And if you are lucky enough to find the Sony and Jerry Holland Duo performing during the Happy Hour three times a week you don't want to leave anymore! You don't even have to, since there is free valet parking during their 3-hour-performance (with $15 per person on drinks or food). Couldn't be more convenient! I'll certainly come back on a regular base just to enjoy Sony's pure and smooth, jazzy voice and Jerry's incredible Guitar playing in a great place and to treat myself to a wonderful short escape!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank UteK711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
1 review
“Sony and Jerry Holland raise Level III to a V”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I have listened to Sony and Jerry Holland for a number of years at various venues in the Bay Area. Sony's pure voice and Jerry's songwriting, adaptations and guitar expertise beat any other Happy Hour experience around - no contest. We had not been to Level III at the J W Marriott until Sony and Jerry began playing there recently on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. We have been there several times since and will continue to do so as long as Sony and Jerry are playing.

Level III is a fairly intimate lobby bar with a relaxed ambiance. The flat screen is above the bar and does not interfere with the atmosphere. The drinks are well crafted and the appetizers are excellent - in particular the crab cakes, scallops and mac & cheese. The bar and wait staff are friendly and attentive. The fireplace adds a nice touch.

The Union Square location is convenient to BART. Happy Hour with Sony and Jerry at Level III is the perfect way to relax after a hard workday or to begin an evening out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and what a great new "SF tradition!"”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The elevator opened to the third floor of the JW Marriott, Union Square, and wow--what a wonderful treat to find Sony and Jerry Holland performing. Open, airy and welcoming, the cozy atmosphere makes a perfect spot to stop before the theater--but you might stay all night!
Sony's voice is magnificent and her warmth in greeting the audience and amusing banter between songs creates a feeling of belonging immediately.The hummus and kale salads were delicious--and we were eyeing the flatbread pizza and sliders for our next visit!
A definite destination whenever we are close to the Golden Gate!
Welcome home, Sony and Jerry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroldress127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure in SF... Great Music, Service, and Food!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I thought I knew all about Union Square, but the Level III restaurant and lounge are a terrific surprise.

We were drawn to the place because of Sony Holland, the incomparable jazz singer who started regular performances there Wed-Fri. evenings. That entertainment was excellent, as always... but now check out the incredible lounge, with a soaring atrium, art lighting, fireplace, showpiece bar... wow!

You would never imagine such an elegant setting based on the nondescript appearance of the JW Marriott hotel at street level. We found the happy hour menu simple but perfect for enjoying the show, so much so that we stayed through dinner. The service was prompt and professional, and the manager lent his personal touch to make sure all the diners were satisfied.

We're going back tonight!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Level III also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Level III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing