We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG totally scary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexis Park San Francisco
Ranked #168 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This place reminds me of prisoner cell block H except the inmates are still wandering the premises outside the cells at night!!! Rooms were filthy and smelt dirty. Carpets were sticky and got bitten after one night in the bed. Wifi is charged at 14 dollars a day but you have to deal with the reception staff to get it who say they take 30 dollars off your card. The reception is a long walk from the 'cells' and I would advise you do not walk alone in that area late at night. I got a lift on an open buggy and the porter was suggestive and perving the whole journey there and back. I literally ran up the stairs and bolted myself in the room. Avoid at all costs. It's at least a 25 minute walk to the strip also.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Lauraine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Alexis Park San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Creepy neighborhood. Wifi did not work at all. The room was ok but they called us in the morning to know when they could go ahed and clean our room, disregarding the "do not disturb" sign we put on the door. Also loud neighborhood and thin walls, you can hear people shouting in the street in the middle of the night. This hotel is really expensive considering the poor service and the bad location. My advice is stay away from this place

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank deuspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights. This is in the mission area of San Francisco there are three missions a minute up the street and the area is flooded with homeless people and drug addicts because they stay near the missions to avoid being arrested and to get a place to stay for a night. On one evening we arrived back to find a man on the stairs to the room. We are not people who are easily intimidated or frightened but walking back to the hotel even early evening not late was quite unnerving. We were told not to walk around at night by a guide on a tour we went on.

The hotel room was ok, sink in room rather than bathroom but not a big deal. The walls are really thin and you can hear everything in the next rooms. The staff were odd to be honest for the first few days we weren't allowed in the office and had to do everything through the glass and microphone facility which doesn't help matters and in that area is not pleasant. They weren't particularly helpful either the only thing they helped with were directions for the bus to the airport.

Breakfast is not really breakfast it's cereal in the office(when your allowed in) you have to take a tray from your room and take your breakfast back with you. None of this is explained to you.

Not great and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I did not really enjoy my stay at this hotel while on my trip to US, California in August 2013. I stayed in 4 different hotels/motels during my 10 day stay in US

For the price paid, it is really not worth it to stay here.

The service rendered by the person at the counter is very poor. He is unfriendly, intimidating and not amiable at all. He's always angry. Doesn't make the stay enjoyable at all.

Breakfast does not contain a wide variety, and it runs out fast.

Wifi is pathetic and doesnt work. Might as well say "No wifi included here"

Insufficient parking space at this motel.

They do not have sufficient "Do not Disturb" signs. When I requested for no room service, I returned to the hotel only to find out that someone had entered my room to open the window curtain. This is not professional at all

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yi Xiang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The rooms are ok, but the neighborhood is really awful. Doesn't feel safe even during daytime. Wifi wasn't working for the 3 Days we were there. Staff was not serviceminded. Stay away from the Tenderloin!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I never rate hotels but this time it was so bad that I had to share my experience with you:
the only exotic thing that I can say about this motel is the name...ALEXIS PARK hotel ...sounds like a really nice hotel...but...its only a name.
1)all rooms are facing the hotel parking lot...I couldn't fall asleep. Due to car alarms always getting on .
also lots of homeless people around the motel and parking lot so you will hear shouting in the middle of the night...
The rooms are quiet nice...but good luck trying to fall asleep.
no way those are soundproof windows
2)regarding breakfast: they offer complimentary breakfast :yoghurt ,cornflakes ,bagel and cream cheese
but....you have to pick it up and eat in your room. Its strictly forbidden to eat your breakfast in the small lobby entrance
manager wont allow that
3)if you are here for the day and need to put your bags in storage be aware NO STORAGE facility...
they told me that they were sue because some of the bags were stolen in the past so they stop doing it
(just to let you know what kind of place it is when they had incidents like that happen)
do yourself a favor avoid ...pay a bit more and go to something more normal
hope it helped

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelidol4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I read reviews that there are a lot of homeless people in the area and wasn't too concerned. Upon arrival, I realized previous reviewers left out mention of the crackheads. You can't walk down the street without getting a secondhand mouthful of someone's crack. The other night one of said crackheads was trolling around the hotel at 4 a.m. threatening to "bash in the head" of anyone who came out of their room. I'd like to add that the chain on our door was broken when we arrived. The front desk was closed and so i called the local non-emergency number and the police arrived to remove the man. When staff arrived in the morning, they were indignant about my complaint. They refused to allow me to cancel my reservation for the remaining two days without charge. Upon arriving in my room, I turned on the TV for background noise while I prepared for dinner and what came on the screen was some brand of Japanese child porn (I immediately stripped the bed). The hotel literally shakes when a truck goes by and there is no sound proofing anywhere in the building. Hence, run! Run away and stay at the hostel up the road if you are on a budget. Do. Not. Stay. Here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damien_jonquieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
236 reviews
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#153 of 230 in San Francisco
236 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
641 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
401 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Park San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Park San Francisco

Address: 825 Polk St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6921
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £78 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexis Park San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexis Park San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Park San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing