We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lets be realistic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge San Francisco Central
Ranked #207 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lets be realistic”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a mid priced motel in an inner city area of an expensive city. The area round about looks a biut run down but we felt safe in it and my wife popped across the road to use the laundrette (laundromat) twice and felt safe and comfortable. The rooms are a bit on the tight side but the three (all adults) of us coped fine. The room was clean and well looked after, being cleaned and tidied daily. The breakfast was functional, oats, toast, waffles, pastries, tea, coffee and juice aqnd enough to set you up for the day. The breakfast room was a tad on the small side and it could be awkward with all the milling around and you might have to wait for a seat (Although you could take the food back to your room). We didn't find it particularly noisy, though we are city people ourselves and used to that background hum of the city. The street car to downtown proper and the bay was 2 minutes walk away and the Metro station at Van Ness 5 minutes. There were some nice restuarants close by and a great bar selling 60+ craft beers just down the street under the flyover. All in all it was functional, comfortable and clean, as well as being handy to get into and around SF. Probably more expensive than what you get but hotels are expensive in San Francisco and this is cheaper than many. We found it OK.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Market Street side are probably quieter and the top floor probaly has less people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    126
    201
    199
    417
See reviews for
208
194
168
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Made a reservation to the South San Francisco location with a late check inn. Twice I called this location to remind them of my late arrival and I was assured that a room would be available to me. I arrived at 3:00 a.m. and was told by that they over booked. He recommended me to another Travelodge on Market st or take may chances and find another hotel (with condescending tone). So late in the evening I wasn't going to take my chances. I finally checked inn at 4:30 a.m. at the Market St location only to be awaken by construction crew at 7:00 a.m. I was moving my daughter inn to SFSU over the weekend and Travelodge ruined what should of been a happy moment for us.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel is LOUD! There are ear plugs on the nightstand to help block out noises, but the walls & doors are so thin it's as if you are in a communal room. You can hear conversations of oters clearly. In a sketchy area, did not feel safe walking alone, especially after sunset, but even during the day - transiets are surrounding the streets outside hotel. Definitely not worht the price... not sure why it's so expensive. In any other city thei "Motel: , as it should be called, nt hotel.. would be max $60 a night. Staff was slow. When we arrived at 11 pm tere was a line of approx 10 ppl... the manager took this time to train the employee working the front desk, rather than expedite the check in process to get guests to their rooms as quickly as possible. Elevator has a sign saying the area has been known to contain cancer causing agents that can cause birth defects... with no explantion. We assumed it was just becasue the hotel is old & possibly built with asbestos..? regardless we chose to bypass the elevator & take the stairs for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank kimmy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recent stay at the Travelodge in San Francisico (Market and Valencia St) and my experience was fairly unpleasant, unfortunately having stayed for 6 nights for a work conference. I had chose Travelodge due to being a Wyndham member and also for the somewhat less expensiveness of the motel but still costing $1,000.00 for 6 nights. The location of this motel is also set-up to be very transient and susceptible to social irregularity. One positive is that the Muni and Bart stations are in reasonable walking distances. Few noteworthy criticisms include: office manager and associate being incompetent and unable to handle a few guests checking in at the same time. This specifically refers to their inability to understand their own computer check-in and payment process, fairly straight-forward necessary actions one would think and taking an exorbitant amount of time to complete this. Upon arriving into room, TV cable line was ill-equipped and compromised, required repair the following day to access basic cable channels. That same evening upon check-in, Police officers were called to de-escalate a social situation 2 rooms down from me that lasted ~2 hours. The following 2 nights involved a homeless gentleman being camped ~5feet outside of my door, having caused constant noise and commotion. Upon repeated complaints, he was eventually removed.
The room itself is what one would expect with humid/musty air and insufficient functional A/C unit, low-grade bath towels, and uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Zacharia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#197 of 227 in San Francisco
328 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
663 reviews
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#155 of 227 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
158 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#135 of 227 in San Francisco
143 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Francisco Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Francisco Central

Property: Travelodge San Francisco Central
Address: 1707 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Francisco Central 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. All our rooms feature in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Francisco Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Central Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing