We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Can't be beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Crownsville
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location Can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great convenient location, Well appointed clean rooms, high speed elevators, Very polite and attentive staff, Quiet and peaceful for a city center hotel. Have never had a bad experience in a Mariott hotel. Only negative was a big convention and lobby crowding.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    775
    197
    52
    24
See reviews for
447
470
86
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We booked this hotel because of it's great location in the middle of great shopping at Union Square. What a surprise! We got a great rate for the concierge floor which had terrific breakfasts, appetizers in the early evening & deserts later in the evening. Our room was clean, modern bathroom with Bath & Body products and the most comfortable mattress one could ask for. There is a turndown service each evening where they refresh towels and leave chocolates for guests. We normally travel with Hilton and in fact moved on to a Hilton property in San Diego. The Hilton could not compare to the Marriott's comfort & service. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: If you ask for a higher floor the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALUV2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I will keep it simple. Excellent stay at this hotel. Clean, somewhat new, great helpful staff, you can't beat the location right in the middle of it all in Union Square. I had a king bed room on the 22nd floor (Room 2221 with an amazing view of the city and Coit Tower - ask for it!). Congrats to the management of this hotel. You are keeping it nice for all of us.

Room Tip: Room 2221 - The higher you go, the most amazing view you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrod1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I'm a Marriott gal for their convenience, dependability, and pet-friendly policy.

When I travel for work, I always request a Marriott, so I have stayed here the nation over. The SF Union Square location is my new favorite, hands down.

When I checked in, they were not able to accommodate the room preferences I had pre-specified with my reservation, so I was promptly upgraded to a Jr Suite, free of charge.

The room was stunning--floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of the city. Even in the bathroom! Being on East coast time, I woke up early, sat in bed, and watched the fog roll in over the rooftops. Magic.

I was also exhausted when I arrived after a 7 hr flight, so just ordered room service. (Something I typically avoid.) Holy garlic prawn, feta, and arugula pizza! I scarfed the entire thing...carbs be damned.

The entire room was spotless...and the perfectly-pressurized rain shower?? Yes, please!

As others have remarked, a big benefit of this place is location. I had read the weather report a few days before traveling, which promised 78 degrees and sunny in SF. Ha. I woke up to a 52 degree, foggy day and was woefully underdressed for a client meeting. Needed tights and new shoes ASAP. I walked outside to find both a DSW and Aerosole right on the block. Done and done. (Not to mention Walgreens, Starbucks, Macy's, etc. Convenience. You get the idea.)

I'm surprised at other reviewers who have commented on sub-par customer service. This is not the Intercontinental, people. You won't find people tucking Ghiradelli chocolates under your pillow. That said, I found the staff courteous, pleasant, and responsive.

In fact, after leaving SF to drive up the coast, I realized I had left my phone charger in the room. I called to see if it had been turned in, and sure enough, the cleaning staff had promptly returned it to the front desk. (A lesson to everyone: ALWAYS remember to tip your room staff!) I was able to pick it up before my return flight home and charge my phone in the lobby.

Overall it was an excellent stay and I am looking forward to coming back if work brings me to the city on the Bay.

Room Tip: Just a tip: as a city hotel in a busy area, it can be a tad noisy @ nite. I always travel with earpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

It's a first time stay at a Marriot hotel. So far it's one of the best hotels i've stayed. I felt the staff really put the best forward and stepped up to the plate to make me and my family to be welcomed. They answered my questions about touring San Francisco and gave really awesome advice of where to go and how to plan my tour of the bay. The price was a bit much for me, I'm satisfied staying a motel 6 or comfort inn. But this trip was planned around out of country family members, and I wanted to be happy and comfortable on their first trip here. The location was another key since it close to everything we wanted to see without getting into a car (traffic is nuts in downtown).

Room Tip: The pillows in the rooms were so freakin' soft. I couldn't get enough of them. I would pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange_advan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I am a loyal Marriott customer with platinum status in past and current gold status. I have had good and bad experiences Marriott in many countries which I have visited or lived in over last 10 years. By far this property is the worst in terms of customer service and being tourist friendly.

Location is excellent. Getting in to the hotel is easy but that's where all our fun came to an end.

Hotel checking in took 30 min at 11 am. Inspire of being a status member no upgrades were provided. When asked for concierge we were told that she had gone for lunch and need to come back later.

Room which we had was tiny and all backside view. We paid top dollars to spend 1 night and we were not given a decent room.


We ordered some delivery food and the delivery guy directly came up to our room for the delivery without any notification from the front desk that we have some visitor. There is no sense of privacy and anyone can just walk up without proper check. I have never had such an experience. I would expect a courtesy call from front desk.

When we requested for some plates and cutlery we were provided with cheap plastic cutlery. It forced me to think if I was in best western or in Marriott.

On the day of departure the bell man got us a cab to which we believe he had some commission tied up. When we reached airport and started to pay by card the cab driver yells at us that it was cash only deal and no cards. We didn't have enought cash and we were not told at the start of our journey that it was cash only. We did end up paying by card but I think it was very unprofessional of the bellman not to tell us in advance and push us into a cab where he had his own personal interest.

I am surely a bit upset with level of service at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachinagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I was there on 09/22/12

I had the best stay EVER.
GREAT HOTEL, AMAZING LOCATION, CLEAN, GREAT ROOMS, CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN
I was able to Check in before 3pm, I was comp late check out at 1pm. The Front Desk clerk Andres was AMAZING, he directed us to all the good places in the city, I wish all front desk people were as friendly and knowledgable as Andres. Big Kudos to Andres and his team.
Centrally located. The Troley is right there at the corner of the hotel, the world famous Lories Dinner is accross the street, walk up a bit up on same block to find an amazing suhi place (Maru Sushi).
Great eats even after hours all around the hotel, just gotta walk up 1 or 2 mini blocks.
They also have a great, clean and peacefull fitness area inside the hotel (level C)

My Downfall: I wish I had stayed longer

This hotel will blow your socks off, AMAZING!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modesto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#33 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing