We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days to attend a conference...Facilities were typical for a Marriott.
Good city centre location close to many attractions and the conference centre.
Smooth check in, we were given a good clean corner room, with a good sized bathroom. Excellent beds, wide desk and reasonable views from our not so high room.
Concierge service was great, The lounge is a good place to have a few drinks and browse as the internet is free here.
Reasonable gym with good equipment.
The only grouse we had to pay $14/day to use internet in our rooms which I thought was a little bit too steep.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    787
    198
    52
    25
See reviews for
453
479
88
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Conference in city so prices probably higher than normal. Despite this I didn't feel it was worth over $400 a night despite the comfortable beds.
I had noise from a creaky bed in next door room throughout the night and could hear voices from next door rooms. Tiny bathroom.
Breakfast expensive, free wifi but only in lobby $12.95 per 24 hours for in room access, given the cost of the room this is ridiculous.
It is convenient for shopping, across street from cable car stop, and an easy 15 minute walk from Moscone Centre. Can easily walk from Powell Bart station (7-8 minutes)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed in several hotel properties in SF's Union Square, and this one is one of the better ones! As a Platinum Marriott Guest I received a complimentary upgrade to a corner room Jr. Suite with sweeping views of the SF from the 22nd floor. The suite was well equipped with a working desk area, sitting areas, larger bathroom, and a very comfortable pillow top bed. I really enjoyed the Club Lounge as well which featured good food and drink items in the evening and morning breakfast service. A wonderful property that is well maintained and customer focused on making your stay a good one! Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel has the most comfortable bed EVER!
Plus, the concierge lounge was nice...
Maybe because I was upgraded due to platinum status, but the room was on a high floor with nice views, the bed was hard to get out of, and the free breakfast was tasty.
The location is nice.
Unfortunately, the parking is expensive, but it is union square.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samcheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was my first time staying at Marriott Union Square, I usually stay at the Westin St. Francis or Hilton in Union Square, but the Marriott had availability for the 2 rooms I needed during a 4 week family trip. The location is excellent, close to many restaurants, shopping, the cable cars and Chinatown. The customer service provided by Diana Lew at the front desk was exceptional. I had requested an early check in as I was arriving with a large family after a long flight. The hotel was sold out the prior night but Diana was able to locate two rooms recently vacated and requested housekeeping to clean them quickly. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with an excellent view of the city and bay. During the 15 minutes I waited in the lobby for the rooms to be ready, I asked about a restaurant a friend had recommended. Diana promptly called the restaurant and made reservations. The breakfast was very good, the valet service was quick. The daily hotel parking was high at $60, but that's San Francisco. I highly recommend this hotel for the location and the service, the rooms were spacious, clean and beds were very comfortable and it was in a safe location by Union Square.

Room Tip: High floor corner rooms are larger and offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We have been to San Francisco and stayed downtown a few times over the last few months and this was the best hotel. I love the Union Square area, it is a great central location and the hotel is 1 block away. It is very clean and modern. The room we had was very spacious on the 26th floor with a great viewof the cable cars going up Powell St and Coit Tower.

Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had no idea what a great location this is in downtown San Francisco. Wonderful options for eating and enjoying the night life. Walked all over and felt safe and had a nice breeze making it a wonderful night to be out. Highly recommend hotel as it was clean and nice.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing