We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but not luxury if that is what you are looking for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but not luxury if that is what you are looking for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Firstly, to my confusion ,there are 2 Marriotts at Union Square. This is the not so glamorous one.
Summary - no problem, pleasant enough stay, but i wouldn't say luxurious. staff ok, rooms ok, food ok, pricing a little expensive for what it is, but San Fran is expensive, so it is ok compared to other places. Location, great.

Staff: Nothing to complain about, there were no problems and staff were nice, assisted whenever i required it, but just missed that step up to the top level of restaurants. Like I said, they didn't do anything wrong, but you can just feel the difference when you step up in class of hotel.

Rooms: We had a junior suite or king corner, can't remember, which was again, nice enough size, not overally huge. I was a bit disappointed that there was no mini bar in the room, no complimentary water which i would think would be thrown in considering the amount of money you are paying. Plastic bin (i know it sounds crazy) but it is just these little things that separate good hotels from great hotels. When I mentioned the mini bar and the water at checkout ,the reservations desk did apologise as she believed it should have had it, but she wasn't sure and again, it seemed to be in the too hard basket to clarify it. I should have asked earlier, but it was not a big deal, just a personal preference to have it.

Location:
Great location right at Union Square, a block away so you can walk to all the shops. Very convenient.

Overall summary - a bit overpriced, not upmarket glamourous, but compared to what else is available for pricing, i would most likely consider staying there again because it is central and no major dramas with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    759
    193
    52
    24
See reviews for
441
465
85
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very high end marriott. Doormen, concierge lounge. Luxurious rooms with nice views of the San Francisco area.

Service was excellent, room nicely appointed and nice size

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Steps away from great shopping, restaurants and and Chinatown and little Italy.

Room rate was reasonable but the in hotel restaurant was very overpriced and not worth it. So many choices to eat. Avoid hotel restaurant if
Possible.







Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed there for a conference. Room was very nice and in great shape. Food at the lobby restaurant was superb (I went for the salmon). Walking distance to shopping, BART and other means of public transportation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The room was average and had a chipped tub. Bathroom was a good size but looked used hard. The front desk help was not particularly helpful//friendly. Certainly not like I have experienced in other Marriott stays. For over 300 dollars a night, and as a gold member, I would choose a different Marriott in San Fran.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this Marriott last month (October 19 to 23) and were very pleased with our room as well as the location. The room was new and clean, the lobby was sleek and had an inviting vibe (especially during happy hour), and thee was plenty of shopping as well as plenty of public transport nearby. (There were BART strikes when we were there but still managed to get around on foot, by Uber car service, taxi, and bus).

But what will really make me remember this hotel is the thorough and incredibly friendly housekeeping team. They were kind, smiling, and friendly and wished us well every morning as we headed out, making sure not to bother us but timing their cleaning of the rooms to meet the guests' schedules. This was much appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is one of San Francisco's finest hotels. The location is ideal to shopping, restaurants,business districts,etc. The staff was excellent. The room was clean and spacious for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was surprisingly large.I look forward to a return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our recent anniversary trip to San Fransisco and wine country and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel is located at Union Sqaure so it is close to shops, restaurants, the cable car and so much more. Our room was quiet, clean and the bathroom was huge which made getting ready each morning much easier.

Buffet breakfast was included and it offered a nice variety of pastries, cereals and fruit. The service was friendly and professional making this one of our best hotel expereinces ever. I would definately stay here again during another visit to SF.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the Bay if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark3735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing