We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #47 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location Perfect”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Located in the heart of Union Square making it ideal for shopping and checking out food places. My friends and I actually walked all the way to the Wharf to go to Rainforest Cafe, which wasn't too far if you enjoying taking walks. The rooms were clean and the views were magnificent for photography. There are any parking places downstairs if the hotel one is full. This hotel is also located near 101 (Van Ness) access route and also Interstate 80 if you need to cross the Bay Bridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    796
    201
    53
    25
See reviews for
463
483
88
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Chose this Marriott over the JW Marriott for its perfect location to Union Square. We booked the junior suite which was fairly spacious and clean with a fantastic view of the city. The bathroom however, was absurdly tiny, with a miniscule sink which needed to be as small as it was so that it, and a person, would be able to fit into the bathroom with the door closed!

The lobby was cheerful with a modern design, the hot breakfast good enough, however the front desk staff were inconsistent - some helpful, some not at all.

We also encountered a problem when we booked this room through Marriott reservations. I asked several times if the room had a separate bedroom with a door separating the living area, I was told a definite yes to this, yet when we arrived and saw the room, it was just one open space.

When I mentioned this to the front desk, they told me that they had just recently renovated the rooms and there was no longer the type of room that was advertised, and this problem had come up before. It took several repeated calls to the reservation manager at the hotel, and the main reservations line before the error was acknowledged and we were refunded fifty dollars by the hotel.

However, the proximity of the property to Union Square and the downtown area made up for these issues.

One other thing to note is if you decide to take the trolley during peak summer season, don't try to hop on near the hotel. They are already full by the time it reaches there, so you will either have to line up at the base of where the trolley begins, down at the bottom of Union Square, or go to the top and do the same.

As well, if you are in a suite and expect the concierge lounge to be open, it has very strange hours, and was not open at all during the weekend we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very nice hotel. Great location, no gift shop in the hotel, but a Walgreen's is on the adjacent corner, so not a biggie. Hotel bar had a good selection of beers and great food! Great staff as well! I would also recommend the breakfast buffet. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great staff, professional, helpful. Great location, central. Rooms clean and tidy. Sound insulation was good. Food was high quality in the restaurant. From the moment that we were checked in by Henry to the moment we were checked out by Henry, the experience was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredfonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We reserved two rooms, with one of them being handicapped accessible for elderly parents. The hotel gave us a wonderful combo of rooms right next to each other with adjoining entry ways. The accessible room was a huge corner room with wonderful views! Great big bathroom with walk-in shower. The staff was really helpful and very attentive to our entire party. Concierge lounge very good for both breakfast and evening snacks - though they only had wine and beer in evenings with no liquor selections. Food and drinks at Bin 480 were very good! Definitely order the Herb Garden Gimlet!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay away in the city. Our room was beautiful with an even more breathtaking view of San Francisco. Hotel offers valet but we decided to park in a nearby parking garage. We were just steps away from the shops at Union Square. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just returned home from a two night stay. Had a room on the 23 rd floor facing the Coit Tower and did not hear any street noises not even the famed early morning garbage trucks.

Pros:

Location, of course
Newly renovated rooms from the Crowne Plaza days
Very clean
Friendly staff
Close to Muni (30 and 45)
Good shower pressure and fast drains
Reasonable rates for it's location
20 minute walk to North Beach or Ferry Building

Cons:

It's a busy area
Pay for wifi, except 2 hour free in lobby area


I will definitely try this Marriott again if the rates are reasonable. The experience was a comfortable one without a big-hotel feel. If you stay here, you can enjoy the Union Square craziness and blend in with all the tourists but also conveniently close enough to savor restaurants in other neighborhoods and the Ferry Building. There's a Starbucks across the street but why not try Blue Bottle coffee?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing