We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #47 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed there one night and the location was perfect for us to see as much as possible in the area. The staff was very nice and helpful in recommending places to go. The views from the room were amazing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    797
    201
    53
    25
See reviews for
464
483
88
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our holiday trip to San Francisco in Dec 2013. The hotel is right smacked in Union Square. It's very convenient in terms of transportation as its just beside the Powell tram line. Just across the hotel is the Walgreens outlet where do do more if our groceries. On the minus side, the rooms are pricey and small, and parking is very expensive. As its in the city, the area is also very busy and conjested with people, and one have to be alert at all times.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CLW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar450, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed being in the heart of Union Square activity.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was the nicest,cleanest smelling Marriott I've ever stayed in. The bed was also extremely comfortable. Overall it just felt CLEAN and a nice smell. I am gold so got two passes for continental breakfast, which was delicious-- fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt and cereal. Also, this hotel is very convenient to the trolley stop and tour buses. No brainier I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a nice hotel. I have stayed here twice and the location cannot be beat if you desire to be in the Union Square area where there is plenty of shopping and great places to eat. It is an easy walk to hit the Saturday farmers market at the Ferry Building, dim sum in Chinatown, and catch the Muni or Bart to wherever you wish to go.

They will warn you that it can be difficult to catch a taxi, but we did not experience this.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have been here for 3 nights on a business trip in January. This Maarriott is of a more "human size" of the other high nearby. Personally, I prefer this kind of hotels not with enormous logistic apparatus. The location is really phantasmic in the best shopping area and certainly one of the best in the US. The hotel is what you expect from a famous hotel chain like this. However, it could be better because there 2 things that make it unpleasant. One the obsessive music in the lobby that is repetitive and, I repeat, obsessive even when you jet lagged are in the lobby at 3 am in the night. The same is true for the restaurant during breakfast. The same and same music keeps going. The second thing that could be better is service at the restaurant at least at breakfast time that is my experience. Waiters and chief waiters are rude talking to each other not concentrated to the hall and even eating and touching mouth. Not very professional but a kind of rough style not high hotellerie. Overal the hotel is ok but it could be better, more classy because of the location. It can grow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCaboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar450, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests in order to improve our hotel. Your comments are helpful and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Oscar Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Located in the heart of Union Square making it ideal for shopping and checking out food places. My friends and I actually walked all the way to the Wharf to go to Rainforest Cafe, which wasn't too far if you enjoying taking walks. The rooms were clean and the views were magnificent for photography. There are any parking places downstairs if the hotel one is full. This hotel is also located near 101 (Van Ness) access route and also Interstate 80 if you need to cross the Bay Bridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Chose this Marriott over the JW Marriott for its perfect location to Union Square. We booked the junior suite which was fairly spacious and clean with a fantastic view of the city. The bathroom however, was absurdly tiny, with a miniscule sink which needed to be as small as it was so that it, and a person, would be able to fit into the bathroom with the door closed!

The lobby was cheerful with a modern design, the hot breakfast good enough, however the front desk staff were inconsistent - some helpful, some not at all.

We also encountered a problem when we booked this room through Marriott reservations. I asked several times if the room had a separate bedroom with a door separating the living area, I was told a definite yes to this, yet when we arrived and saw the room, it was just one open space.

When I mentioned this to the front desk, they told me that they had just recently renovated the rooms and there was no longer the type of room that was advertised, and this problem had come up before. It took several repeated calls to the reservation manager at the hotel, and the main reservations line before the error was acknowledged and we were refunded fifty dollars by the hotel.

However, the proximity of the property to Union Square and the downtown area made up for these issues.

One other thing to note is if you decide to take the trolley during peak summer season, don't try to hop on near the hotel. They are already full by the time it reaches there, so you will either have to line up at the base of where the trolley begins, down at the bottom of Union Square, or go to the top and do the same.

As well, if you are in a suite and expect the concierge lounge to be open, it has very strange hours, and was not open at all during the weekend we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,615 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing