We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #39 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a great location near many great restaurants, Chinatown, and Union Square. The staff is extremely friendly and seem to enjoy what they're doing.

Our room was very clean and modern. The only thing I'd change is more counter space in the bathroom and free Wifi.

The dessert at the restaurant is also great if you're in need of a late night snack!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tukonafullmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews, Marriott Rewards membership, convenient Union Square location and excellent price for a weekend in San Francisco. We arrived from the East Coast around 1:30, concerned that we might not be able to check in that early. Not only could we check in, but Frances upgraded us to a junior suite. During our 2-day staff, we found other staff to be as pleasant and professional as Frances. The room was lovely and very quiet. Workout facility had decent equipment and included water and towels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal if you want to stay in the center of the action. Its just blocks away from everything. S.F. is a very small city so you really don't need a car. If you do have a car with you do not park at the Marriott. Go two blocks down on Mason street and park there. The rooms are small but clean. We had a room with two double beds which were supposed to be queen beds, they are not queen beds. Very hard to sleep in a double, and no we are not big people. They charge for the wifi at this property which I do not like. Wifi is like air, you need it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spoilednewyoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and completing a review. We appreciate the positive comments about our location.

We have double checked our hotel website to ensure information about our bed types is correct, since we do not have queen beds (I apologize you did not receive the queen beds you were expecting). We hope you will choose Marriott on your next visit to S.F.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came for a conference. The staff is outstanding. We observed genuine concern for our comfort on every level. On the 4th day we were surprised with a gift of scrumptious, warm freshly made cookies delivered to our room. So unexpected! We were only disappointed with our initial brunch experience. Just after ordering brunch, the brunch was closed. A bit of a dilemma as there were no eggs and dishes were whisked away as we were serving. The waffles were cold. The manager apologized and deducted one of the buffet charges, but the lesson should have been, wait for the guests to enjoy the buffet if you are offering one. The walk to Union Square is only a block and the Chinese New Year parade passes the square, so an easy way to enjoy. Cable Cars pass often immediately next to the hotel. Fisherman's Wharf a 20 minute walk.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel has one of the best location in San Francisco, with walking distance to down town shops and restaurants. The bathroom was a little small, but understandably for city hotel. Service was good overall. Price range is comparable to other hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here while in town for a 49er's game and had a great time. The hotel is like most Marriott's in style and cleanliness. Staff is friendly and helpful. The location is everything though. We walked to almost everywhere from this hotel. That was very important to me. There are a lot of better hotels to stay at, but if you are going to be out of the hotel for the most part what is the point? If I could get same deal I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed there one night and the location was perfect for us to see as much as possible in the area. The staff was very nice and helpful in recommending places to go. The views from the room were amazing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,763 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,684 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £160 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing