We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is Available (Upon Request)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everything is Available (Upon Request)”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I contacted the Concierge to have a couple plates, flatware sets, a sharp knife, and a small refrigerator brought up to our room to prepare for a in-room picnic dinner. Everything was provided in a timely manner, perfect for a romantic night in...

Besides the service, the location is great: within easy walking distance to Union Square (it's actually located one block off), as well as the Ferry Building (Sutter Street runs radially out from near the Ferry Building, intersecting Market near Sansome) and the Moscone Center.

We were in town for both business and pleasure, and the hotel served both more than sufficiently. We had been upgraded to corner room with a king-sized bed and south- and west-facing window bays with operable windows for fresh air. Given the price, we were glad that we were covered on company expense!

We only ate in the hotel restaurant a couple times: once for the buffet breakfast on the morning we checked out, and once for an early dinnertime snack before going to a show.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room, though there is still the occasional ding-ding of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    798
    201
    53
    25
See reviews for
465
484
88
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a solid Marriott, as the title says, not shabby but this isn't an upscale Marriott either...which it doesn't advertise as. They've had a recent renovation I think because it did appear to have updated interior. This was another type of hotel that has been around for a while as I understand it, so for some reason no adjoining rooms. They have an option with a suite that connects in a private hall to a regular room, but this is as close as it gets.

Front staff was friendly and courteous, and the concierge was extremely helpful. Location is great, a couple blocks north of Union Square. Very centrally located for tourist attractions. They have a club/concierge level, which had a hot breakfast that was good. Dessert in the evening wasn't good in my opinion, so skip it. View is nice, though.

If you take a car, valet only, and it is expensive (something like $50 or $60 a day).

No pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlinkingDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location - only a short walk to restaurants, shops & bars. I didn't find the staff particularly helpful but the hotel was very nice and the rooms were a great size. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmknipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Perfect location within walking distance to everything! The cable cars stop right out front which you can catch and be down at Fisherman's wharf within 15 mins. The lounge has the best drinks and the free wifi in the lobby was a bonus. I just wish that the wifi would have carried up to the rooms. Fantastic service from the doorman and the concierge. Would highly recommend staying here if you are going to be in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Rooms very clean , bathroom in the one bedroom king room somewhat small , but you really don't want to spend a lot of time in your hotel room , when your in beautiful San Fransisco! Service is good , concierge was helpful in arranging tours , they pick you up and drop off right at front door . Only one small complaint , they don't have shuttle available to and from airport, which is expensive in a cab . I would definitely stay at Marriot Union Square again !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently for a trip my cousin and I took for spring break. We had called ahead to see if we could have a high floor. They honored our request. We had late flights so we didn't get to the hotel until about midnight. They stuck us in a room with a king bed but we preferred 2 queens. Went down stairs and with hesitation they switched us. They only had a room on the 8th floor but we still had and incredible view of Powell street. The hotel is close to all the great shops ( Gucci, Saks, Neiman Marcus,etc...). The cable car stop is just one block away and it's only about a 10 minute ride to Pier 39. We're planning another tip back and I would want to stay at any other property. Also kudos to our server at Bin 480. I forgot her name but she's from Columbia and she was the best to sit and chat with while we were eating our dinner.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JetPlane27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heraklion
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited S.F with our 9 years old child.We stayed 5 nights.By e-mail we requested for a room with Bay view.And yes it was a very spacious room with a magnificent view over the Bay.2 King size beds but a small bathroom.It was a very clean room.The hotel"s location is perfect to visit the centre of the city, the museum of modern art, the Chinatown.The staff was very helpful and friendly.They even made reservation for us or gave us any information we asked.So i highly recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors with A Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioanna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,621 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,616 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing