We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #47 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
MIAMI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West trip”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We started a trip in San Francisco and ended in Whistler Mountain, Canada. This hotel was nice, friendly employees as well as helpful. Nice decorated and the room had a gorgeous view of San Francisco. It's in the heart of down town and it made it easy to move around, i recommend this hotel for those with family and want to move around in San Francisco without a car.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a great location to everything. Really close to China Town, close to trolleys, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLINAMIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    797
    201
    53
    25
See reviews for
465
483
88
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is my favorite Marriott in SF on the basis of:

1. Location. Right at Union Square but not as crazy as the SF Marriott and certainly better than Fisherman's Warf.

2. Quiet. Because the hotel is relatively newly renovated as a Marriott they did something to the windows that make it really quiet.

3. View. You don't have to pay for views but the 27th and 28th floors have remarkable views of Coit Tower, the bridge and water.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the bay. You will pay more but it's worth it. ** Don't use hotel parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this property. If you are looking to stay downtown I would recommend this location. Great views from the upper floors. You have to take a ride to the 30th floor where you can look out and see the city. Comfortable rooms and a nice restaurant and bar area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here in August 2011 with my husband and my one year old daughter. We were looking for a decent hotel with a convenient location.
Once we arrived, the staff was beyond friendly and even upgraded us to the 21st floor at check in thanks to hubby's Marriott status. Room was fairly clean and the king bed was comfortable - (then again, i am the type that is able to sleep anywhere) FYI-Bathroom a bit on the smaller end with not much counter space.

The location was ideal-right in the heart of Union Square shopping with the trolley stopping right outside of the hotel. Not necessary to drive to chinatown or the wharf as its a quick trolley ride away. We ventured out to eat during our stay but have to recommend Sears Fine Food for breakfast-loved their mini Swedish pancakes so much, we had breakfast here twice!

For the location alone, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Hotel was central, close by to the best shops, Union Square and had a cable car stop right outside. The room was not wonderfully appointed but adequate and with a limited view of the city as I had requested that the view was important. I did not want to spend time looking out on a brick wall after 17 hours of flying to get there. What was bad was the level of begging on the streets. It would put me off ever visiting the City again as there was a constant barage of begging at every corner and on every street. I didn't expect this especially as it doesn't happen in NYC. The nearer to Union Square the more tourists were around and more begging. Chinatown isn't opened at night, and you have to eat really early as restaurants close at 10.00pm.
I was disappointed that the Hotel failed to register my points on my Marriott Loyalty Card. The reception people were helpful and charming and it was all in all a good stay!

Room Tip: Choose a Higher Floor, Room with City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spookykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Outstanding service finding this hotel.
Valet service.. Exceptional..
The room was with reward points. So happy we didn't pay the $400 a night to stay there.
And to think they would not give us a key to the breakfast room because we used points... Cheap-O..
It is in the heart of SFO.. So bring your $$$$$$...
Very disappointed!

Room Tip: Because this was a reward.. They gave us a room next to the circuit breaker boxes.. To get a free ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopeful9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar480, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Union Square, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your stay. I am pleased to learn the staff met your expectations. I apologize we do not provide complimentary breakfast to our guests. I want to assure you it has nothing to do with redeeming points for your stay (however, our Gold & Platinum Elite members are provided complimentary continental breakfast regardless of whether they pay or use points).

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Oscar R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Honestly I cannot say enough about this hotel. From the very beginning things went smoothly. We arrived very early for check in (9am) and our room was actually ready for us. Every single staff member went above and beyond and were so helpful! The hotel location is perfect, easy transportation to anywhere in the city and within walking distance of nearly everything. The rooms were new, and the cleanest I have ever seen. And that bed!! So comfortable, I almost couldn't get up in the mornings. Although we never ate at the restaurant or breakfast buffet, we did order room service for dinner one night and it was very good, with local and organic ingredients and wine available from the local wineries. If other people were staying around us, we couldn't tell. It was that quiet!
TIP: Head a couple blocks over for breakfast at Honey Honey Cafe, but get there early.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,619 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,615 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing