We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Managed Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #45 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a hiatus of a few years when we stayed instead at the JW Marriott (Post & Mason St.) and the Marriott Marquis (near Convention Center), we decided to come back to the Marriott Union Square since we liked it so much before. We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, and I can say that of the 3 above-mentioned Marriott’s, we prefer the Union Square at the corner of Sutter and Powell Streets. (Hence, the 5 stars, since I gave the Marquis 4-stars). Although it is a 6-block walk to the Convention Center, its location is close to lots of shops and restaurants; it is far enough away from the maddening convention crowd of the Marquis; and it is a far nicer hotel than the tired, worn and dark JW Marriott two blocks away. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on the 15th floor (Room 1516), which was a lovely corner room with windows on two walls overlooking the intersection of Powell and Sutter. On the Sutter side, one looks directly at the Sir Frances Drake Hotel (so no view), but on the Powell side one looks down over the cable car line (although noise is not a problem here). The room was large with a sofa (or perhaps this was a sofa bed) and two very comfortable swivel chairs with an ottoman between them. We really appreciated this, because even though two people often stay in a hotel room, there is usually only one chair. The king bed was the most comfortable we’ve had at the 3 SF Marriott’s. There was a large foyer with a closet and a counter that held a coffee machine and ice bucket. The bathroom, too, was very large. During the day, the room was very sunny, and at night the room had lots of lighting – 6 lamps and downlights in the foyer. We were extremely pleased with this room. The executive lounge was very nice and not overly crowded. The lobby restaurant, Bin 480, is a great convenience, when you can't go out to dinner, with good food and service. We were even amazed to see the manager working so hard, too, clearing tables and helping with the service. When we met him in the elevator the next day, he not only recognized us, he even told us what we had to eat and drink the evening before – and he didn’t even serve us our food & drinks! This is clearly a manager who is on top of things! This could be why we prefer this hotel over the JW and the Marquis. It is impeccably well run. At the front desk, Nan was extremely kind and helpful. When we checked in, she even recognized us from our previous stays, even though we hadn’t stayed there in 3 years. (Open-mouthed surprised look on her face and "good to see you again -- it's been a long time")! We had only stayed there twice before (2010 & 2011 I think), so it was a surprise to us that she remembered us. Still it is a good feeling to be warmly welcomed back. There are always at least 2 front doormen opening doors for you and available to hail a taxi. We very highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The corner Junior Suites are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel because it has a great location, but once we got there we where more than happy, the hotel is very nice, the rooms are very clean and modern, and the location is amazing, you are a block away from union square, where you can find all of the stores, and the bus tours stop there!!
Totally recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraDVdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Friendly staff, nice, large rooms and quite quiet for being just about a block from Union Square. Easy to get everywhere in the City, lots of restaurants and shops in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for a long weekend for my birthday in May. Room was fantastic - corner room with a fantastic view.
Staff was great!! Everyone we came in contact with was exceptional.
Location was the best of all the Marriott Hotels in San Francisco...
Will stay there again, no doubt!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBrownSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have stayed in this hotel several times and love the central location. Easy access to all San Francisco delights. We got a room on the higher floors that came with a decent view - would have appreciated the view even more if there were floor to ceiling windows like some other hotels in the area. Clean, comfortable amenities in the room. Good and cheaper private parking facilities available within a block or two, in addition to the hotel parking. The only downside is the absence of any pullout area in front of the hotel for loading/unloading luggage. The door men are pretty helpful, though in managing the traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was looking brand new, stayed in a club room on the 19th floor , the property very conveniently located in Union square across Macy and close to many restaurants and all the shopping . The break fast served at the club room was good and evening snacks and desserts was convenient especially when you are travelling as a family. The staffs at the club lounge are amazing, very friendly , always smiling ready to serve you. Will 100% recommend it to all travellers and will stay here again .

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in a club room if you are family it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBharti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We booked four rooms online way in advance and thankfully had our room confirmations with us when we checked in. For some reason, they had us on a higher rate and were about to not honor our rate because we had a "last minute booking". Reception was very busy and there wasn't much room in the lobby while we waited to get checked in. Maybe it was because it was the weekend.

Rooms were fine, classic Marriott. No complaints there. We had three nights of restful sleep.

The best part about this hotel was its location. Right across the street you had Starbucks, Walgreens and Lori's Diner. Walk couple blocks down and you hit the shops of Union Square. You could really walk anywhere! No panhandlers in this neighborhood (we'd stayed at the Hilton on O'Farrell Street the last time).

Also due to its location, we had a hard time getting cabs and always had to wait quite a while. The doormen were friendly and always had a smile on. When things get busy, you may find yourself getting ignored by the bellboy as he fights to get guests cabs while ignoring the honking traffic.

All in all, a great stay in the heart of Union Sq.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank lilithfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,923 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
5,915 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £143 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco Marriott Union Square offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from our hotel in downtown San Francisco, California. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing