We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel in good location”
Review of The Dakota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dakota Hotel
Ranked #196 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a family 'suite' on the 5th floor for 2 nights for a short trip to San Fransisco as part of a longer holiday in USA. This is a very old building which has retained much of its character and with that comes its good and bad points. The downstairs lounge area is pleasant and quaint but the only concession to the 21st Century here is the wi-fi and flat screen TVs in the rooms. The lift (elevator) really is antique and a bit of an experience but sadly broke down the day we checked out meaning we had to carry our bags down 4 flights of stairs.
The room was supplied with clean towels, soap etc and even cold bottled water in the fridge but I think it must be some time since the room was decorated or even thoroughly cleaned and there were small pieces of glass on the floor at the end of a bed below a broken picture.
Whilst not cheap in absolute terms you have to remember that all hotels in San Fransisco are expensive so compared to other places this is a budget hotel that is conveniently situated near Union Square. There were clearly a lot of young travellers and backpackers staying here which they seem to cater for well and if you fall into that category and you are on a tight budget this hotel may well be ideal. However if you are looking for a hotel for the family I suggest you either pay a bit more or stay further out of town and find somewhere more suitable where you are not expected to strip your own bed and bring the sheets down to reception when you check out!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BriddersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizlora, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for your review! It's true that lodging in San Francisco is very expensive and we offer an alternative to normal hotel prices while still providing a prime location in the heart of the city. We're sorry that the elevator was out of service the day you checked out. When that happens we always have some one come in to fix it as quickly as possible. We do have many 'hostel' travelers come through as well as families, hence the stripping of sheets in dorm rooms - we do also have a full housekeeping staff who service the private rooms, so there would be no need to take care of your own bed if you were not in a dorm. Thank you again and happy travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent two nights with the family (three teenage kids) at the Dakota. The building is old, the windows insulate no sound nor cold from the streets but still this was one of our best stays during our road trip. We had a junior suite that was not cheap but ok considering the general price level in SF.
I would recommed this hotel especially for anybody travelling with friends and not with the big f*ng SUV we had to worry about. The location is great but if you like the downtown area, a bit far from the really touristy things but everythin within walking distance, if you like to walk. The young people contribute to the atmosphere and there was no noise whatsoever arising from the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1fatfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizlora, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of the location. We do offer accommodation at a low price so that our guests can be sure to have money for the important things, like sight-seeing and enjoying San Francisco! Come back and stay with us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked a private room at the Adelaide Hotel but turns out our room was in another building called The Dakota Hotel. We checked in at the Adelaide but had to walk 2 min to the Dakota Hotel. Really not that inconvenient but some clarification on the website would be nice?

We took a nifty lift up to our room which was a 3-person private room. Consisted of a double bed, single bed, refrigerator, tv and closet. There is no a/c but there is a ceiling fan and you can crack the window. The bedspreads could use an update (they look like they were 10 years old but they seemed pretty clean)

Overall we found the rooms to be clean, the neighborhood relatively safe (but some kind of security at the front door could only benefit the place and convenient. I think it was great value for the money we spent. Would totally recommend this place to a friend looking to visit San Fran.

Room Tip: The higher the room the hotter the room. If you are going in winter months this won't be a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear onherway10,

thank you for booking and staying with us! Indeed, the Adelaide has two other buildings around the same corner, operated by the same staff and owners. We are glad you enjoyed the Dakota building, it is one of the many buildings in the area with a classical Victorian architecture, and during the years we have tried to be careful not to change it too much, so as to keep its unique personality. Thank you for your comment on the bedspreads, we will soon update some of the oldest one: some of them gets washed everyday, and it is inevitable for those to fade in color and brightness, so thank you for bringing that to our attention! With respect to the security of the hotel, our reception staff is on 24h a day, and they oversee whoever come in and out of the bulding; we also have security cameras installed everywhere in the building, and our receptionists, especially those working at night, keep a close eye on them.
Thank you again for being our guest and for the always useful tip. We look forward to see you here again in your next trip to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This particular trip to SF was one of the weirdest yet, and I've had quite a few trips to the land of the weird while visiting this city. The hostel just facilitated one of the greatest nights with all my closest friends. The service was excellent, they were very accepting of our large group of travelers, very polite, but especially interesting. I connected with several of the staff members, and each of them are lovely people. The eclectic nature of the guests made for very interesting experiences too, which comes with the territory of living accommodations such as these.

All-in-all the this place rocks: I have plenty of couches to crash on all over the bay, but I would pay just to stay here again. Thank you for the excellent service and facilitation of a wonderful weekend!!

Room Tip: Try a top floor, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CartographerOfLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

You’re very welcome, and we’re glad you had an excellent adventure at the Dakota Hotel! We do always have interesting characters staying and working with us; things are always changing but it’s always certain that you will have new stories and new friends after staying with us! Come back again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I am absolutely thrilled with my stay at The Dakota Hotel! The staff there was especially amazing and accommodating since I was checking in 40 people!! I especially want to thank Bobby and Suprita for putting up with all our demands.

The rooms were clean, they allowed us to extend check out time a bit, we had so much fun in the common room and it was in the perfect location! It is located in the heart of downtown around a bunch of nightlife and tasty food! There is free breakfast in the morning and fun events at night! Plus the view from my room was beautiful!

We all had an amazing time and cannot wait to go back and do it again. Thank you Dakota Hotel staff for helping to keep my friends all together and make it the best birthday weekend of my life!

Room Tip: corner rooms are the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you! So glad to hear you had the best birthday weekend ever and that we could be a part of that! We encourage you to come back and see us anytime, there are always more adventures to be had! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ouch. Boy at the front desk kept hitting on my friends and I, we were definitely not feeling it. The rooms were filthy and the restrooms even worse. Being in San Francisco is nice, but the rest of the hostels amenities were downright poor. Never again. We were there this past weekend to see Pretty Lights, if it weren't for that we would have not even stopped here. =\

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at The Dakota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Jenny,
We’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We do clean the rooms every day with a professional housekeeping staff, so we apologize if there was a problem with your particular room. Also, we have spoken with our staff to make sure that there are no more situations like the one you described- we take customer service very seriously and encourage a friendly environment- but of course, not too friendly. All the best on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

40 of my friends and I came down on this place like a thunderstorm, and they were as accommodating as it gets. The rooms were very nice and the staff were very helpful. There were a few mix-ups but that's to be expected with such a large group checking in all at once. The common area had couches and games to play, and there was a full kitchen available in the basement area. The Dakota Hotel helped make the weekend the best weekend of my life.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
154 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
393 reviews
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
353 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#194 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 230 in San Francisco
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dakota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dakota Hotel

Address: 606 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £86 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dakota Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Dakota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing