We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and see the highlights”

Blue & Gold Fleet, PIER 39
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.00*
and up
San Francisco Escape from the Rock Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue & Gold Fleet, located at PIER 39 in San Francisco, offers Bay Cruises that sail under the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz, the Bay Area’s only high-speed thrill ride on RocketBoat, custom boat charters and scheduled ferry service to Sausalito, Tiburon, Angel Island, Vallejo, Alameda/Oakland, Harbor Bay and South San Francisco.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Relax and see the highlights”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I did the 60 minute bay cruise, goes around the Bay, under the Golden Gate and around Alcatraz. You have the option to do a 90 minute cruise that includes a tour of Alcatraz but I skipped that. The Bay Cruise was more than sufficient, commentary was good and pointed out a lot of highlights along the route. The boat had a snack bar with drinks and food available and staff were all very friendly. If it's even close to windy, take a jumper or wind cheater!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    262
    90
    28
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,223 reviews
3,373 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,668 helpful votes
“Skyline of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

One of the highlights of San Francisco is going out on the Bay and seeing the skyline of San Francisco and getting close to the Golden Gate Bridge. Both of these things are iconic San Francisco. While the boat itself is a basic sightseeing boat, its a nice hour or so. One also gets a good view of Alcatraz - it's a great alternative to going to Alcatraz if the major reason to go there is for the views.

It can get cool on the bay, so do think of "dressing in layers".when taking this boat ride.

We have enjoyed this outing several times and its always enjoyable to do.

To avoid the lines to purchase tickets, one can purchase tickets on the web; then go to the self serve ticket machine to get one's ticket. This is the way we purchase our tickets and it means very little waiting to take the boat ride.

With the location of Blue and Gold fleet, it is convenient to do this boat ride as part of a visit to the Fisherman Wharf - Pier 39 area.

They do do special cruises as well such as Fireworks Cruises on Fourth of July and on New Years Eve.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If we wish to visit San Francisco in a day, better NOT to miss the Bay cruise adventure trip, lasting an hour. we can see the majestic golden gate bridge underneath, go around historical Alcatraz and Angel island. We can see the city of San Francisco , all from a closer and clear points from the ferry. If one has more time to spend. one can choose ferry to each of these islands and near by places too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HARAGOPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ferry to Tiburon and back!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have visited The City many times in our lives and our adult daughters live there but we have never taken this trip...what a wonderful activity it was! We took the Blue & Gold Fleet Ferry from Pier 39 to Tiburon at 3:45 on a glorious Sunday afternoon, walked around the charming town and admired the tribute to recently deceased Robin Williams, had a dockside dinner and returned to pier 41 on the 7:15 ferry. Our 2 1/2 year old grandson wants to take the "motorboat" again! It was sunny, chilly, very breezy, with magnificent views of the city, Alcatraz, Angel Island, boating activity, sea lions, Forbes Island, and Tiburon. The ferry trip takes 30 minutes if there are no other stops. Adults: $11 each way. Children under 5: free Senior fare: $6 each way

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karenmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Desert, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's your average boat tour....”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

..with all that entails. Long lines in an uncovered area to shuffle onboard a boat where everyone is vying for a good spot. Or THE spot. We had done several before, so we chose a spot inside on the lower deck and couldn't have been happier. We could hear the narration, it wasn't crowded and I could see everything I wanted to. We had a lovely morning. Bring sunscreen and a hat for the line and if you plan on sitting outside. Even foggy days will sunburn you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicachiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue & Gold Fleet, PIER 39 also viewed

 

Been to Blue & Gold Fleet, PIER 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing