We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinecrest Diner

Pinecrest Diner
Ranked #90 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Union Square
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great food and service. Staff very friendly, burgers very tasty possibly the best burger i have ever eaten :-)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    485
    144
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pinecrest is a little gem of a diner a couple of blocks off Union Square! They are open 24 hours a day...we only ate breakfasts there (all 4 mornings of our visit!). The wait staff is friendly and the coffee is perfect. Their breakfast menu covers the bases, with pancakes, to egg/bacon combos, to greek yogurt and fresh fruit. They bring the food out hot and fast. Good prices, would highly recomend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HipRoadtripper9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The absolute best diner in San Francisco if not the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We ate here several times during our four night stay in San Francisco in July. Be certain if you eat breakfast in the morning at Pinecrest then you won't need to eat a thing until the evening. The portions are huge!! Very friendly and efficient service; they remembered us each time we went and actually sat us at the same table. It is just how you imagine a typical American diner to be! Brilliant food and reasonable prices. I particularly enjoyed the cheese and mushroom omelette topped with chili con carne and a superb hash brown ( I mean freshky made and cooked hash brown, not the type we get in the UK). Despite being exceptionally busy all the time, the waitress and waiter always saw to our coffee and coke refills. This is a real gem and a must if you are visiting San Francisco. Thank you to TA for recommending it to us so we in turn can recommend it to everybody else!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliejackbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, price, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

It may well be 'only a diner' but my friends and I loved this place! Great for breakfast, lunch or supper, we called here several different times of day during our stay and were never disappointed! Great wholesome fresh food cooked to order, good potions and the prices were great too! All staff were super friendly as well! We loved it!!

Helpful?
Thank Mavs801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Pinecrest is just want you want to start a day sight-seeing in SF. Had a great breakfast there of pancakes, an omelette, hash browns. Everything cooked perfectly and served fast by a nice waitress. What else could you want?

Helpful?
Thank Connecticutguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinecrest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Pinecrest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing