We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Steinhart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steinhart Aquarium

Steinhart Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour
Ranked #165 of 529 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The California Academy of Sciences is the home of Steinhart aquarium.
Waterford, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stellar Steinhart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is an amazing place for everyone! As an avid aquarium enthusiast I visit the aquariums in any city I'm in and this is one of my favorites now. The exhibits are interesting and well maintained. The giant reef aquarium is stunning even though it is only four years old. I have a friend that works there so I got the full behind the scenes tour to see how it all works. Quite amazing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fishtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lots of fish and a great educational environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The kids just loved it (Ages 5 and 2). Here with some family from out of town and we love the education yet engaging atmosphere. My 5 year old daughter loved the jellies tank that changed color!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmbyopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went on a field trip with the 3rd and 4th graders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a great place for kids....or us older kids.....to come watch these amazing animals. There is one area where there is a place to sit and enjoy the fish swimming by. I could sit there for hours.....really!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Everybody likes Steinhart Aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Steinhart Aquarium is a good City Aquarium. It isn't world-beating but it's fine if you want to get a look at fish and mellow out

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-junkie3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
211 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Much More Than Just an Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The original Steinhart was severely damaged in the Loma Prieta earthquake and has been completely rebuilt. The new building is fabulous and contains a great aquarium as well as a complete rain forest and a planetarium. The aquarium has three large tanks, one to cover the Amazon river and support the Rain Forest exhibit, one to represent the local Pacific Coast waters and a wonderful Philippine Reef tank. There are additional smaller tanks and a touch pool where the children (of any age) can touch real sea stars and similar tide pool animals.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steinhart Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Steinhart Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing