We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Easy Parking, and Historical!”

Fort Point National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
San Francisco City Bike Rental
Ranked #33 of 527 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From its vantage point overlooking the spectacular Golden Gate, Fort Point protected San Francisco harbor from Confederate and foreign attack during and after the U.S. Civil War. Its beautifully arched casemates display the art of the master brick mason from the Civil War period.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Views, Easy Parking, and Historical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Fort itself was very interesting and there was enough signage (plus the brochure) to learn about the Fort without the full tour. For fantastic views of the bridge and bay, this place is great.
My husband and I stopped here on a foggy afternoon and were easily able to find parking. The parking lot is small, but we were here in August and didn’t see any cars unable to find parking. You can definitely tell it is a big stop for bikers and there are two sets of restrooms in the area.
As a note, it is very windy and chillier than the surrounding area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    259
    49
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Facinating Civil War Fort at the base of the Golden Gate Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Fort Point is a Civil War-era brick fort located at the north end of San Francisco, directly below the southern end of the Golden Gate Bridge. In the summer it's open to the public 6 days a week, Thursday thru Tuesday, and they occasionally do Civil War reenactments.

They do a great job of explaining the then state of the art construction techniques used when it was built between 1853 and 1861. When it opened the fort had 69 canons to defend the entrance of San Francisco Bay. They also have nice displays showing what life was like being a Union soldier stationed there.

The fort has great views of the bay and provides a unique view of underneath the Golden Gate Bridge. Because of it's location right on the water it can be very cold and windy, so dress in layers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A friend of mine and I wanted a good view of the Golden Gate Bridge, and it happened to be a foggy day. We came here, and the best part was the top floor. Here, you are right underneath the bridge, and can get a wholly different view than anywhere else. You will have completely different pictures than anyone else who comes to SF.

It was also interesting from a historic perspective. We spent about an hour here, between taking pictures and wandering through the different halls. Just a warning that there are a lot of stairs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best for the Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We didn't visit this fort our first time in the city, but wanted to the second time. It is pretty easy to get to...my GPS found it just fine. Beautiful views to drive down the road to get to the parking. Free parking is always a plus. As with any activity by the water in San Francisco, bundle up! I had a sweater and a coat and was still cold walking around the fort. Free admission. The location of this fort is very awesome as it offers different viewpoints of the Golden Gate Bridge and water. We did not do a tour or stay for a demonstration, but did walk through. I would recommend this if you have time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 44Renee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Rich in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Do NOT miss this free opportunity! Located under the Golden Gate Bridge. Fantastic views for photos and so rich in history. A little windy especially on the top floor. Check out the hills beside it also which holds some interesting forts. Don't forget the camera!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Point National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Point National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing