We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out exploring SF and Muir Woods”
Review of Dylan's Tours

Dylan's Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
The Ultimate Day in the Bay-Includes Muir Woods
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
The Original City Loop Electric Bicycle Tour
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Intro to San Francisco Electric Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer intimate, small group minibus and electric bicycle tours through San Francisco, Muir Woods, Alcatraz and Sausalito, led by our renowned local San Franciscan tour guides. Our Famous Tour covers San Francisco, Sausalito and Muir Woods-all in a day(maximum 14 passengers per bus)! Our City Loop E-Bike Tour is a life changing experience that takes you beyond where tour buses can go. We also offer the least expensive bike rentals in the city! We love our city and we want to give you the best experience possible.
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great day out exploring SF and Muir Woods”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We decided to do this tour having read all of the excellent Tripadvisor reports and were not disappointed to have done so. We were picked up on time by Dylan from the Union Square pick-up point and were part of a small party of 8 on the tour. The bus used is for a maximum of 14 people so you will always be part of a small group. First thing we noticed was how inclusive and personable Dylan is, addressing folk by name and encouraging discussion between the different nationalities on board.
We had visited various San Francisco districts and sites independently before doing our Dylan's Tour and had journeyed around on one of the open top buses, but it is true to say that we would have missed out on many sights and background knowledge had we have not done this tour. Dylan's knowledge of his home city and his views on how things are continuously changing was really interesting and informative.
The visit to Muir Woods was an interesting contrast to the hustle and bustle of San Francisco and to see such giant trees and greenery just outside of the city was amazing.
Really a must do tour and we wish Dylan ongoing success with his enterprise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dawnngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,057
    134
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highlight of our time in San Francisco”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Dylan's Tours was truly the highlight of my trip to San Francisco. His tour focuses on areas of the city and surrounding area that is hard to reach without a car which makes it a great activity for out-of-town tourists staying in the Union Square/China Town/Nob Hill areas.

Dylan is a local who has a lot of knowledge about the history, demographics, political history, & culture of each district. You get to learn in great detail what each district is and how & why it became that way. He explains why & how Haight-Ashbury became the Rock n Roll/Hippy mecca of America...how & why San Francisco in general (and especially the Castro) has attracted such a huge gay population...how & why China Town was settled by the Chinese...and how & why the Tenderloin got its name and why is't so heavily populated with homeless people.

For me, the different neighborhoods are what makes San Francisco so unique, and his tour was one of the most fascinating and educational tours I've ever been on.

Additionally, Dylan is very easy to get along with and about as friendly as a guy can be. It's like riding around in a van with your old buddy who happens to be from there. You get to know the others in the van, too, and you get a great chance to know them a little which is a nice benefit.

My wife loved the tour because she got to see all the hot spots within the city and get a lot of great pictures. So even if you aren't as intrigued by the history of each area, you will still thoroughly enjoy this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Understand San Francisco”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Small tour allowed great interaction with driver. Brendan was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we visited the best sites - great photo opts. Key to any tour is the driver - Brendan was great

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oceanpc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“1st time to SF- A must do on Day 1!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Once again TA advice paid off. We did Dylan's Famous City Tour on day 1 during our first trip to San Francisco. Dylan made sure we all had an excellent day. Some of the stops included:
-Twin Peaks - he timed the trip to when the fog had lifted and we had a beautiful view of the city. Also, able to experience the SF culture..... this is a park where there was a small family playing with the dog, a homeless person sleeping, and a couple smoking pot. These groups were all within 100 ft of each other.
- Haight/Asbury- took us back to the 60s and early 70s.
- Mission District and Castro District, and sharing the history and evolution of each.
- Muir Woods to enjoy the redwoods
- Golden Gate Bridge - we think it was there in the fog.

The daylong overview gave us an appreciation of the city, the culture, and to help frame the rest of the visit. Thanks Dylan!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank makua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bridge and Sausalito hills conquered!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Affordable, friendly, honest, knowledgeable and most of all helpful to tourist!! We loved our tour and seeing the sites!! Great place for bike rentals!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dylan's Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dylan's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing