We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk down, take the Presidio (PresidiGo-crissy field) shuttle back”
Review of Crissy Field

Crissy Field
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
San Francisco Walking Tour: Golden Gate Bridge to Marshall Beach
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
San Francisco City Bike Rental
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
San Francisco Coastal Walking Tours
Ranked #27 of 550 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular park for jogging, picnics, biking, and sightseeing.
Orem, UT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“walk down, take the Presidio (PresidiGo-crissy field) shuttle back”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Wonderful view of the Golden Gate Bridge and not crowded. We started at the Palace of Fine Arts(-which is incredibly beautiful) after leaving the Muni. We wandered down the beach toward the bridge, but you can't get onto the bridge from crissy field. I did not know at the time, but there is a Presidio shuttle which will take you back! It picks you up at Stillwell hall. This would have made our walk a bit less stressful-some of our party was getting tired and we were under a time constraint. Look at the map at PresidiGo schedule "around the park" at presidio.gov. The trail is flat and easy, but wear your layers. There is a little cafe at Crissy field center.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shdaimeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    408
    78
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fun or relaxing spot with great views”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped here while en route to bike across the bridge. It's a great place to sit in the sun and read a book or play frisbee or fly a kite, or do whatever it is you want to do. The views of the bridge are some of the best I think from this spot, and it's often a lot less crowded than some other spots around. There is also lots of walking/biking that goes through here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seaside park”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a very busy park with great views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Just below Presidio Park, it was a nice walk & we did a huge loop that included the Presidio, Crissy Field and then the Palace of Fine Art. There was some random teenages in large groups playing instruments all over. We think it was some sort of "art in the park" thing. We also got to see the intense and frequent changes of fog to clear to mist that happens in the bay and it was extrordinary...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great for a run and a stroll!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We drove out here in the morning for a run near the Golden Gate Bridge. It was pretty foggy but nice for a flat run.

After checking out of our hotel we came back -- this time the fog had lifted and there were many families picnicking and lots of people enjoying the view of the famous Golden Gate Bridge.

This wasn't on our travel list but we were very glad to come out here and probably will be back on another visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kurokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of the Golden Gate”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We walked from Lombard Street towards Fisherman's Wharf all the way to Crissy Field and then on to the Golden Gate bridge. It was a beautiful walk. The beach is very nice. It wasn't overly busy when we went. There were quite a few people who had their dogs in this area and some people were riding rental bikes.

The view of the bridge is stunning the closer you get. We sat at Torpedo Wharf for awhile. It was beautiful outside and it was nice to catch some sun rays here and watch the locals fish here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank elka_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crissy Field also viewed

 

Been to Crissy Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing