We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cable Car Court Hotel
Ranked #32 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is misleading to call this place a hotel, since it is really a poor-quality hostel. The price of over $200 per night was outrageous and I recommend avoiding this place at all costs. I did not feel safe there. The place feels run-down and depressing. A dog-eared notice in the hallway refers to 'guests and tenants' and I had the impression of being in some sort of halfway house for people with troubled circumstances. A uniformed security guard sits at the entrance during the night. I left after one night and had to make expensive alternate arrangements for the rest of my stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    32
    9
    16
See reviews for
19
33
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family of four adults stayed in the corner room on the fourth floor last April for seven nights and we paid USD630 only. Its location is ideal with walking distance to Chinatown and Union Square. We even tried walking to and from the Fisherman's Wharf, experiencing walking up the slopes of the city. A supermarket is just next door and another one across the junction. Eateries are all around the hotel. The well known San Francisco best donut, Bob's Donut shop is also just across the junction, 3 minutes walking from the hotel. Cable car and bus stops are right in front of the hotel. With our 5 days pass which include unlimited ride on the bus, tram and cable car, we managed to travel to Golden Gate Bridge, Baker Beach, Golden Gate Park, the Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Pier 33 to Alcatraz, Port of San Francisco, Union Square, The Financial District, Lombard the world's most Crocket Street, Coit tower and unlimited shopping trips, all with ease. The hotel is equiped with fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.
The only set back is that the room is only cleaned once a week, on Friday morning. We had to throw our rubbish at the common bin outside our room. Clean trash bag can be obtain at the common area. Clean towels can be requested daily. The shower area is also small. On the whole, we like the price and its location and we had a lovely one week holiday at San Francisco

Room Tip: Corner room is newly renovated and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hasnah1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The price for the room with two queen beds and a small shower was rather good. We paid about $100 a month. Location is really great. You can easily reach all central sightseeings. There was a fridge, microwave and TV set in the room.
What was bad. The room was noisy, on the corner of two streets which were busy in the morning. It was cold to sleep two nights. The shower is extremely small. They didn't clean the room when we stayed there.

Room Tip: It's better to stay in the room with windows to the yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekaterina-www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you are in San Francisco on business and all the hotels in the city are packed with mega-conference attendees, there are not too many choices available... this is what happened to us in early December 2012.
If you do not have high expectations but only want a clean bathroom with hot shower, a comfy bed with clean linens and a private room, this is the place to go, but bare in mind that you are at the edge of the "good neighbourhood" and the noise can be disturbing some nights if you are a light sleeper.
Rooms have a mini-fridge and there is no breakfast or restaurant in the house.
The building is old and so are the rooms but the bathrooms have been renovated... corner rooms are the "best" as we discovered... but this is more of a pay-by-the-month kind of "in between" building than a hotel... don't expect much... but if you are an all terrain globe trotter, it would do!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

There is construction every day from 8am - 6pm. The spanish speaking workers talk so loud to themselves its like a party they are having with each other in the hotel, radio blasting, hammers banging on the walls constatnly its like a war zone. The manager is very rude and the lady at the front desk is worse than rude, she is very unhelpful and she lives in the hotel and when you call her to come help you she looks like she hates your guts. GOD its terrible - Save yourself some peace and money and DO NOT STAY here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Well, we visited first week of December 2012 San Francisco and there was no empty room all around in the city, so the Cable Car Court Hotel was the only relatively centric option.
First impression: terrible. Smelly, old, unorganized, and even if the woman at the counter deck was nice and helpful, but seems like she just woke up.
We went to the room, and the first impression was similar. Yet, we got a nice corner room with large windows and the most important things were there: safe, clean toilets, shower and bed linens, and hot water. So, if you do not have high expectations and you need a clean and comfortable bed with a hot shower at a cheap price, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Reasonably sized clean room but during our stay there was some construction going on so at first we struggled to locate the hotel due to it being covered in scaffolding, while the noise could be quite bad throughout the day and in the morning. Fortunately we didn't spend much time in the room and were up early most days anyway but if planning on sleeping in late it may be best to check when this construction work ends/avoiding altogether.
A decent location near public transport (cable car and buses) or a 25/30 min walk to the pier area and about 10/15 mins to China town, though these were very hilly which was quite tiring after a long day exploring the city.
Unsure if I'd recommend staying again, I probably would once the construction has finished but otherwise something similar and a bit quieter can most likely be found for a similar price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Nob Hill Hotel
#148 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Villa Nob Hill Guest Apartments
Villa Nob Hill Guest Apartments
#16 of 50 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Nob Hill
The Nob Hill Inn
The Nob Hill Inn
#14 of 72 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel
#36 of 72 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Car Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Car Court Hotel

Property: Cable Car Court Hotel
Address: 1499 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-4774
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cable Car Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cable Car Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing