We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Sumner House became our home away from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Francisco, California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Whiskywiz...
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Sumner House became our home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Sumner House is great! We were traveling by motorcycle with another couple. The SOMA region and Sumner House worked well for us. The 2 bedrooms are comfortable and at opposite ends of the apartment. The unit is very well managed, with simple, effective processes for getting in and checking out. It is also well equipped, and includes just about everything you could need. It is clean and well maintained, and the manager is friendly and very easy to reach and talk to. Downsides are few, and minor. SOMA is rough around the edges. The area is noisy at night, as expected for a downtown area, but with no A/C you need the windows open, so you do hear the street. The garage is awesome! It easily accommodated our 2 cruising bikes with good security. Local grocery shopping is easy and nice. I would definitely stay there again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Hard to say - so much was good!
Liked least: Street noise in the font bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc32655
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place...but the neighborhood is rough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is near perfect. A great two bedroom apartment with very nice and large common areas. All facilities are first rate.
The locale is a bit scary, though. We had a homeless man sleeping on the street outside the apartment. I certainly wouldn't let my wife walk the streets alone after dark.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: A high class property within reasonable walking distance of the convention center
Liked least: Uncomfortable waking the streets of this part of San Francisco
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2012
Thanks for visiting. We love hearing from guests and I want to comment on your neighborhood impressions. San Francisco is a major metropolitan area with all the good and bad of a large city. Yes that also includes homelessness. Unfortunately every neighborhood is affected by homelessness. Since we live on site, we hardly think the neighborhood is scary. And neither do our many neighbors who also did million dollar city remodels transforming and upgrading our homes into spectacular lofts and downtown apartments.

We totally understand that a random homeless person seems scary and different, but they are still people. In fact they are quite harmless. Most guys are down on their luck and find themselves in tough times. These are not violent criminals out to harass and intimidate people. If that were the case ourselves and our neighbors would never allow it (we are tight like that). One guy we know of even cleans the street and watches over things even though he is down on his luck. San Francisco is not a violent or scary city and in our humble opinion neither is our street. San Francisco is still a town with lots of love from every social economic class. Even our 70 year old female neighbor next door will agree that walking the streets late at night is no problem. In fact in 7 years managing our rental we have never had an incident of crime or violent activity ever.

Our apartment is in downtown in the heart of the tech scene and close to the action including nightlife, top restaurants, and bars. Come visit for a fun true big city experience. What we are not is an apartment in the sheltered suburbs with absolute quiet. Would you complain about the city life while visiting New York? Is that not why you visit a city? At any rate as property managers we are always here to help day or night and we are more than happy to accompany any guest at night and show them the sites. We hope to share the experience with many more guests to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2012
Thanks for your visit. It seems that overall the stay was good but certain details were 100%.Since we want to make sure everything is spotless, I wanted to clarify some of the deep cleaning concerns. Here is some of what was pointed out to us:

- "Regarding the cleaning its obvious you clean the place but I think it needs you to go through and clean inside the drawers. Also, the dish drying rack was dirty. I did a load of laundry and the top of the washer where the soap container sits as well as the front of the washer need to be cleaned. This may sound picky but also the blinds in the kitchen looking out the back window were splattered with food etc..."

We have since taken care of all those issues and we make sure every detail is as clean as possible. As sometimes things may miss our attention (hopefully not often), we are here on site to make them right as soon as possible. Just ask and we will be there to fix any issue.

As far as our neighborhood is concerned, SOMA is in the heart of San Francisco, and there is a lot of night life and activity at all times. The neighborhood is very safe, and we often bike and walk the streets late at night. Many of the neighbors have lived in the area for over 20 years. Although it is far removed from a suburban lifestyle, SOMA offers many amenities you cannot find anywhere else. This includes top-notch restaurants, late night food, and close access to San Francisco’s attractions. In the seven years that we have maintained the property we have never had any incident of crime or aggressive activity. In fact there are a number of families with young kids who live on the street. We have also welcomed many families with young children over the 4 years of opening to the public. An urban lifestyle is not for everyone, but our many business travelers and families always seem to love the experience.

We are in downtown San Francisco, so you will have to deal with the typical scenario you find in an urban environment such as fire engines, and street traffic. We do have brand new double pane Marvin windows which do cut down on some of this noise, but sometimes in the alley sound will echo and carry over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karuna-Ma...
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Secret gem in San francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay. Sumner house was perfect for our family vacation. It was spacious, clean and had nice toiletries and a steam shower. Kitchen was well equipped. Beds were comfy. It was a 10 minute walk to the Powell cable car or Westfield shopping centre. Location was perfect. I would stay there again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The steps from pavement to front door but they are a feature of many San Fran properties.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2012
Thanks for visiting. Im happy you liked our beds. We use a top of the line all natural Keetsa matress that people seem to love. Next time you come you have to try Sight Glass, a new coffee shop and roastery that is a fabulous addition to the neighborhood. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piotr G
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$350
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing