We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Sightseeing

City Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.99*
and up
City and Sea Adventure: San Francisco Bay Cruise Including Hop-On Hop Off Tour
Ranked #66 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering Hop On Hop Off Double-Decker Bus tours of San Francisco, Alcatraz Tickets, Sausalito, Wine Country, Yosemite National Park, Monterey and more. We also offer discounts on many other San Francisco Attractions.
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took the tour on 6/21/14 around 2pm to Golden Gate Bridge and Sausalito and it was quite entertaining. Our guide was Spencer and he was very funny and knowledgeable. He had many good tips as he is a local and knows everything there is to know about San Francisco. He also took us places where we were able to get exceptional pictures. Overall it was an awesome tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,259
    658
    301
    254
    420
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best way to see San Fran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great experience and we did lots of the tours during our four day stay. Paco was so entertaining and a great host on board. All drivers and staff were very helpful and professional and this is a great way to see the city. Plan your days, check the timetables and take a hat if the weather is hot as you can get sun burned on open topped bus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baddersqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost lost all hope in the company until we had Spencer, who completely saved the company in our eyes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

On the day we arrived in the city we made our way to the tour office as we were staying in the city for three days and we had a 72 hour hop on and off ticket including an Alcatraz tour. When we arrived at the office the lady explained that it was important that we got to the office for 9am PROMPT the following day to get our Alcatraz ticket, we literally broke our necks to get to the office the following morning and even paid $20 for a taxi (even though technically we had paid for our bus ticket, but weren't allowed to use it till the Following morning? God knows why) only to be told that our Alcatraz boarding was 3:20pm, so we went all the way back downtown, we wish that the Alcatraz times could have been allocated the day before or we could have been informed some other way, we assumed that we had to get there early because otherwise we would miss our boat ride. We also had a tour guide on the bus who we couldn't understand and barricaded us on the bus to try and get us to tip him, which made us feel very uncomfortable. The following day we caught the downtown bus to the offices when we had a different tour guide, who we also struggled to understand, even though this chap was speaking English (and we are from the uk) we still couldn't understand him. I felt sorry for the guys on the bus who didn't have English as their first language, they had no hope of understanding him. When we arrived at the office we were greeted by a guy who told us that the next golden gate tour would be in an hour and a half, this shocked us as we were told that there would be a bus every 30 mins. Finally the tour bus arrived with a driver called Spencer who literally saved this companies a** in my opinion, he completely restored our faith in sight-seeing. He was friendly, interesting, attentive, respectful, funny, and a very skilled driver. This man is AMAZING! Get a ride with this guy and forget EVERYONE else! He is the ONLY reason this company is getting a good review from us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeodoraR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good times with Zelda and Gerald”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hop on hop off bus tour has been the best use of our time and money. We were thoroughly entertained by Zelda and her stories. Overall, the 48 hour pass is totally worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to city sight seeings usual standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have done many tours with city sight seeing all over the world and they were excellent! so booked my ticket (4in1) online for San Fran in advance.

Firstly the stops were not clearly labeled, unless you were going on at fishermans wharf or union square, so getting on the bus to collect my ticket was the first challenge.

The guides were variable, non excellent! I heard a lot about their families and where they liked to eat! I much prefer the headsets used in Europe to tell you actual facts and good photo opportunities!

My main problem was the bus times! Non of the buses I got over the 72hr period were on time! Upto 45mins late! For some routes they only run a bus every 2hrs and these buses are full so you daren't get off in case you can't get back on! The frequency of the down town main bus route was also questionable! Many other companies had a far more frequent service!

Finally I had booked the 4in1 for a safe way to see the city at night - well the last night time tour was at 7 - still daylight and as one of my tour guides pointed out the bridge would probably not be lit! So didn't even bother with that tour!

Overall I'm very disappointed with City sight seeing this time, a lot of time wasted waiting for buses and would recommend people use a different company when in San Franscisco!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemiss105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing