We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see a fantastic city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Sightseeing

City Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.99*
and up
City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #71 of 284 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering Hop On Hop Off Double-Decker Bus tours of San Francisco, Alcatraz Tickets, Sausalito, Wine Country, Yosemite National Park, Monterey and more. We also offer discounts on many other San Francisco Attractions.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to see a fantastic city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We have just moved on from a city break in San Francisco. We booked City Sightseeing through our travel agents and were very pleased. Yes, it's busy but it is high season. Yes, the guides repeat facts but each guide has his/her own spin on a story. And yes, some of the jokes are corny. But it was good fun! We saw lots of the city, got to sit down between huge amounts of walking and were well entertained. And yes, they remind passengers about tips but this is America. I'm sure other tours are similar but we really enjoyed this one!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clarabelle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    666
    303
    260
    426
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Funny guides!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Took the Sausalito loop tour with Tara and she was awesome! Funny and engaging throughout the whole ride. Didn't have any of the issues others wrote about with long waits or full buses- but maybe because we went on Sunday.
The night tour was okay. It wasn't dark so we didn't get the lit up sights we were hoping for but it was still pleasant. Our guide was pretty good too.
Guessing that the less talented guides get put on the hop on hop off tours around the city because that's the only time we had a so-so guide who was hard to hear. Overall a positive experience and looking forward to doing more exploring tomorrow!

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearns, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun fun fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We bought the city pass for 3 days for a real low price, We got to see the Bay and around Alcatraz, under the San Fransisco Bridge on a boat tour, We also got to take a bus tour to Napa valley, and Sanoma county for wine tasting. We also went to the Aquarium, Rippley's believe it or not.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We chose to book a 48 hour ticket and thoroughly enjoyed all of the tours! The guides are great, a real mixed bunch, but all have their own style and a fantastic wealth of knowledge that they are keen to share about the city.

The Green Tour, out to The golden Gate Park is particularly amazing, definitely recommend that. The night tour was brilliant, excellent views of the city at sunset, and a little quieter that some of the day time tours.

A great way to see all the major parts of the city, especially if you are only there for a few days.

Thanks for helping us see all about San Francisco!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waiting and Don't get off the bus”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

First of all you spend most of your vacation time waiting for the bus. Then once the bus comes you may not be able to get onto the bus because they may not have room for you. We did the night tour and showed up 5 minutes before it was suppose to leave. Apparently we were too late because the bus was already full so we had to wait an extra 30 minutes to get onto the next night tour bus. Also you may have to sit at the bottom of the bus which sometimes you can't see out the windows. This is not good considering you would like to actually see San Francisco. Sometimes a bus would be crowded and you would not get on. You had to wait at least 30 minutes for a bus if you were lucky. This made you not want to hop off the bus because who knows when you will be able to get back on it. Sometimes people would be telling us to get off the bus a stop and we wouldn't because we didn't want to get stranded. They also didn't really seem to care that people were waiting. I was bummed because I wanted to stop at certain places but I didn't want to spend my vacation waiting for a bus. This company has you waiting a lot. Several times I saw multiple bus companies drive past more than once while we were waiting. If you are going to have as many stops and routes, you need to have more buses. Also some of the tour guides were not trained in certain parts of the tour so they would just skip it. Some of the tour guides just repeated the same information. It would have been nice if they said some new things. They would beg for tips and it was obvious that there standard for tour guides was not very high. Some would be boring and dull while others told multiple lame jokes. It seems they need to learn more about this city with such great history. Learn more about the buildings. They also need to have new information to tell. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. What a waste of time and money! I wish I could have just gotten my money back. Don't take this tour, try Big Bus or another company.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing