We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for the money”
Review of Legion of Honor

Legion of Honor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Legion of Honor Museum Admission
Ranked #17 of 544 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outstanding collection of European art in a gorgeous hilltop museum setting.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not good value for the money”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Same comments I've seen elsewhere in the "poor" category. Great site, building, friendly staff. Some of the exhibits were interesting but much that I've seen elsewhere. Wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend it to anyone either.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank detachedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,109
    417
    76
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Art museum in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Well spaced out and lit pictures and a room of Rodin sculptures.

Views outside are excellent. Parking was OK, but immediate car park was full and could be quite a walk if busier.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding Museum”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nothing to dislike. Easy parking - beautiful property. one of my favorite museums anywhere. Walk the grounds - enjoy the views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank raymond p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extreme treat!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Toured the museum during our time in San Francisco. Initially went to see a Matisse exhibit and went through the rest of the general collection because it was so fabulous! My three girls also enjoyed the great works there - especially Rodin's The Thinker. I particularly loved the very good Medieval and. Renaissance collection!! Also to be enjoyed - the fantastic views of the city and bridge!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Art, great views from location on a hill”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I enjoyed my visit to the Legion of Honor. The was a lovely exhibit of impressionist and post- impressionist paintings, along with the other fantastic art - Rodin's Thinker greets you as you walk into the courtyard. There is other sculpture, historical paintings and furniture and a great cafe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeresaN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legion of Honor also viewed

 

Been to Legion of Honor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing